What kind of internet do you have?

Discussion in 'Community' started by applemacdude, Oct 6, 2003.

  1. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #1
    I have AOL dial up. Which i get for free...:cool: thanks to my friend cough..anyways im planning to get cable but thats another thread;) What kind of internet do you have...?
     
  2. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
  3. pepeleuepe macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #3
    Just got cable internet in our new apartment. Before this all I had was dialup at home. Once you get high speed internet, you can't go back.
     
  4. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
  5. Daveman Deluxe macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #5
    I have 640/256 DSL provided by Qwest. We just qualified January of this year. I live out in the country, but on the edge of a new development.
     
  6. ColoJohnBoy macrumors 65816

    ColoJohnBoy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #6
    I have 1.5 Mbps/256 Kbps cable internet through Comcast. The cool thing, though, is that they are going to begin doubling the download speeds of their subscirbers at no extra charge - to 3 Mbps. I just hope they increase the upload speed also.
     
  7. shadowfax macrumors 603

    shadowfax

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #7
    T1 or T3 here at Oklahoma U... i get an 800 KB/sec upload rate consistently, and usually close to that from dedicated servers on a download. it depends on the server and who else on the university is sucking bandwidth. it's always, always, always faster than my cable internet at home was, though :)

    that's KB in bytes, by the way, so... 6 Mb/sec? something like that.
     
  8. baby duck monge macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #8
    T1 or so at school.

    56k modem at home.

    hey, at least it's all free (except if you count tuition)
     
  9. noel4r macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  10. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #10
    I have Earthlink DSL via Covad. My wife has an iBook with and Airport Card for wireless DSL. Broadband is definitely superior!
     
  11. evil macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    chicago ex-toronto
    #11
    rogers cable internet.
    i used to have super highspeed dsl..like way faster then regular cable or dsl..but too expensive..
     
  12. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #12
    9600baud DataKing modem from Montgomery Wards. Took me 20 minutes to load this page. Was it worth it?
     
  13. tazo macrumors 68040

    tazo

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, Seattle, WA actually
  14. scem0 macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #14
    I have the same internet that everyone else has! The World Wide Web.... The net..... The internet that Al Gore Created :rolleyes: :rolleyes:.... The one we all know and love......

    But to answer what type of ISP I have it would be:
    Time Warner Road Runner Cable

    scem0
     
  15. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #15
    I have both cable and DSL at home. Why? Because if service is down on one, I can use the other. Without Internet access, I would die within minutes ;) so backup is a necessary precaution for health reasons. Cable is faster so that's what I use when all is well.
     
  16. scem0 macrumors 604

    scem0

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    back in NYC!
    #16
    Hmmmmmmm

    I wonder if there is a way to harness the bandwidth of both the cable service and the DSL service and use them at the same time......

    That would be really cool, and fast.

    scem0
     
  17. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #17
    Cable at home, from Cox. Seems to be getting faster all the time. I usually got 250-300KB/s, now it's 350-425KB/s.
    At school however, we have two RS3's, I'm told each one is equivalent to a T1. You might say "Wow, nifty". HA! I'm lucky if I get 50KB/s on a download. The dorms get crap for bandwidth. The AutoCAD lab where I have a class (with fkin Dells of course). get 750KB/s usually :mad:
     
  18. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #18
    DSL from the local monopoly (Telecom). 128 kb/s each way :(

    If the DSL provider has mirrored the file I'm trying to download, then I can jump through hoops (reconfigure the PPPoA settings) and download at up to 4.2 Mb/s. Then I have to reconfigure PPPoA again to access anything they haven't mirrored. Needless to say, most of the time I just download the regular (slow) way.

    Fortunately the government has just decided to force Telecom to allow competitors (Telstra etc) to install DSL equipment etc in Telecom's exchanges. Hopefully prices will go down and something faster than 128k will be affordable (right now you need to pay something like 12c per meg :eek: )
     
  19. pivo6 macrumors 68000

    pivo6

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #19
    I have access through charter cable that is paid for by my employer.
     
  20. mactastic macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
    #20
    I have the internet Al Gore invented.:D

    Charter Cable internet. I could never go back to dial up now, it is soooo frustrating.
     
  21. saabmp3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Tacoma, WA
    #21
    Cable modem here at my off campus house. It's actually pretty good getting top speeds in the 430 range. Last year at school we got 2MB's from ftp.aol.com. It was great, hehe.

    BEN
     
  22. mrjamin macrumors 65816

    mrjamin

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Strongbadia
    #22
    1mbit/256kbit DSL from NThelL, i mean NTL. Running it through a 4-port Linksys 802.11b router/hub/switch which is then uplinked to a hub on the first floor of my house. All in all, providing broadband to 7 computers.
     
  23. rhpenguin macrumors 6502a

    rhpenguin

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Location:
    London, Ontario
    #23
    I dont have internet at home... I take my iBook around and use other peoples....
     
  24. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #24
    Sweet bejebus!

    thats a long timmeee.

    I have Optimum Online (OOL) Cable.

    I get like 2000 KB/30 KB (second)

    (yeah tell me why I have such a suck ass upload?)

    Fastest I ever downloaded was at around 500 KB/sec ... Never got much higher tho...
     

Share This Page