What kind of ram does Apple use?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by generik, Sep 28, 2006.

  1. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #1
    It's odd, in the previous Mac Mini I got that came with Hynix modules, 2 days later it died so I sent it in for a replacement, and this new one has Micron modules.

    Does this means Apple has multiple memory suppliers?
     
  2. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #2
    Yep, I've had Hynix, Samsung and another I can't remember.
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    They get the cheapest compatible RAM at the time. :)
     
  4. generik thread starter macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #4
    Cheapest eh? Why not funny brands like Adata or Epipia?
     
  5. bartelby macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    #5

    Cheapest but "quality" brands...
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Yeah, they still have to meet a Mac's relatively high quality RAM standards.
     
  7. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #7
    The cheapest most expensive RAM :D
     
  8. generik thread starter macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #8
    Lol what a contradiction!
     

Share This Page