What kind of Wireless router to get

Discussion in 'iPod touch Accessories' started by hdguy20060207, Oct 23, 2007.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Oct 17, 2007
    What's the best kind of wireless router to get for the iTouch ? I'm
    not really anticipating getting any other wireless devices such as a PC
    or anything.
    I'd just need a secure n/w si I can use the iTouch for browsing.

  2. macrumors 65816

    Sep 18, 2007
  3. macrumors regular

    Sep 3, 2007
    Vic, Australia

    Well, depends on your needs - is your house big/does it have thick walls? Is it 2-storey? Do you want to surf the net in your backyard?

    If the answer one or more of these questions is 'yes', you will need an 'n' router. (sorry if that's obvious to you - i'm assuming youre a newbie to all of this).

    The apple airport extreme is good, but a tad expensive, basically just get an
    'n' router that is b/g compatible (it will say all this on the box of any wireless routers you look at)

    If you know nothing about setting it up, then you may want to ask your internet provider if they sell any, that way it will be sent to you from them all configured and ready to go.

    When you say you dont plan to connect a pc to it, does that mean you dont have one? You will need a pc (even just a friends laptop or something) to set up the router.

    Enough rambling from me. Hope i helped.

    Good Luck :)
  4. macrumors newbie

    Feb 28, 2006
    Get a router that supports Tomato or DDWRT open source router firmware. It'll give a cheap 40 dollar router the functionality of a much more expensive one.
  5. macrumors newbie


    Oct 16, 2007
    Im my house I share the internet via LINKSYS WIRELESS WRT54G Router and works fine. On my job I share via iMac 20.
  6. macrumors member

    Oct 23, 2007
    Any Should Do

    Any wireless router that supports 54g should do. I prefer Linksys (I have a WRT54G also), but I have used others and I haven't found one yet that didn't work for most devices.
  7. macrumors regular


    Oct 7, 2007
    the Netherlands
  8. macrumors newbie

    Oct 22, 2007
    I'm using Linksys. The first time I use my Touch i couldn't get on line, then I read someone's post about changing the channel from 6 (default) to 1 in my router's setup and now i'm surfing the web with my Touch. :apple:
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Oct 17, 2007
    Thanks for your replies. Yes, more info. I live in a 2 story house ( Alberta).

    The connections would be as follows
    Modem ( Shaw) -> Router

    Then from the Router a cable to my PC to control the router.

    Then I would have my iTouch being the only wireless device.

    Hope that makes sense.
    I'll probably not go for the totally cheap option, just in case I do decide
    to get a laptop and will want wireless internet. I do not think I would be
    outside too much. Wireless router would be on the second level, worst
    case I would be in the basement surfing.
  10. macrumors 68020


    Dec 5, 2006
    A router with g/n should be fine, I recommend using a 3rd party firmware though -> DD-WRT :)

    Just FYI but I use a Linksys WRT-54GS

Share This Page