What Linksys router for $50 or less can I buy that will work well with intel macs?

Discussion in 'Mac Peripherals' started by wmmk, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,419
    Location:
    The Library.
    #1
    I've been having issues with my Linksys router, and I've just been on the phone with one of their technicians for an hour or so, and she said I could buy defunctional router replaced at the Best Buy where I got it, as I purchased it less than a month ago. So, I can get any access point or wireless router made by linksys, I'm assuming in the $50 range (how much the WRT54G originally cost me). Anyway, both computers in the house accessing the net are wireless, which is why I'll look at access points, too. Which linksys wireless product will be the most painless to use? Thanks so much,
    wmmk
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,419
    Location:
    The Library.
    #2
    anyone here use linksys routers with an intel mac? I'd really appreciate any help:eek:
    I now think I may actually be able to get somwthing for more than $50.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    SpankyPenzaanz

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    705
    #3
    netgear wgr164 i think i saw it newegg this past weekend for around $45

    I have never gotten a linksys to work with mac let alone marginally with win
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    mr_matalino

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    522
    #4
    Yeah, I use a linksys (but my roommate has an Intel). No problems here!
     
  5. SMM
    macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,340
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #5
    I thought the man said he needed to buy a Linksys for his warrantee (or I read it wrong). Anyway, I have both Netgear and Linksys components in my home network. I did experience some configuration issues with Linksys. So, I just plugged them straight into a Dell, did the configuration and then installed them on the network. They work fine. For me (anyway), the issues revolved around the set-up wizard on the Mac. For your future consideration, except for 1 fan failure, I never have had an issue with a Netgear product.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #6
    Linksys WRT54G. Can be had for about $50 anywhere. Works perfectly fine with everything; that's the most popular kind of router among my local circle of Mac and PC fans alike.

    And remember: Never ever ever use a stupid software-based setup wizard. Everything you need can be accomplished with just a few clicks through the router's web interface.
     
  7. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,827
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    See if the Best Buy has the Linksys WRT54GL, which is the older Linux based model. It might be just a bit over $50, but is far more capable and robust than the version 5 or version 6 WRT54Gs that are out there now.

    B
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    100
    #8
    I have two Macbooks that connect wirelessly to a Linksys WRT54G. I have never had any problems with this setup, and in fact have found it much more reliable than my previous crappy Netgear router.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,419
    Location:
    The Library.
    #9
    I was just at worst buy and got the Netgear WGT624v3. The idiots charged me a 15% restocking fee. Oh, I'll call their corporate offices and raise hell.:mad:

    The setup CD is winbloze only. I'm assuming I just connect DSL, connect ethernet, connect power, go to 192.168.1.1, and change all the settings I want? Thanks.
     
  10. macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    9,256
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #10
    that's the way my linksys router worked even though the cd was windows only
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,419
    Location:
    The Library.
    #11
    ok. I just set it up and everything works perfectly. when I hooked up the hardware, some weird web based autosetup wizard showed up, but it killed the internet connection, so I set up the damn thing manually and all is well. sorry I've seemed pissed in this thread and the other network related one:eek:

    Well, it's sure nice to have internet again:)
     
  12. macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,595
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #12
    don't get the WRT54G in general. I had a VERY hard time getting them to work with my Macs at all, and when I did I had to reset the router once a day or more depending on how many times the router decided to disconnect all the wired and wireless compuers. The Netgear I have now is much better. And what I did to set it up is, I called techsupport and had them walk me through it :D. I hate network related issues. Although when I was in Best Buy they told me that Belken (I think, this was several months ago) was the only router manufactorer that supported the Mac (not counting Apple).
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,419
    Location:
    The Library.
    #13
    cool! I am now posting from the MBP, via the netgear, which is actually sending a decent signal. i really like this!
     

Share This Page