what makes your skin crawl?

Discussion in 'Community' started by sonofslim, Apr 15, 2004.

1. sonofslim macrumors 6502a

sonofslim

random question, i know, but after much googling (slow day at work) i'm still unable to answer that question. i was thinking maybe some of our more medically-minded members might have some insight. so, does anyone know... what exactly is going on, physiologically, when you get that skin-crawling sensation?

2. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

rainman::|:|

i'm no expert, but i think this is correct:

animals (we're calling humans animals for now, deal with it people) tend to take steps to make themselves look bigger when threatened/frightened/upset, as a defense mechanism. Like when a cat's hair stands on end, it's to make other animals back down in a fight. Humans have the same residual hardwiring, only we've lost most of our body hair, leaving only light fine hair behind... when we're frightened/upset/etc, our body tries to "puff up", but can't, leaving us with goosebumps and the sensation of something crawling on you...

I think it affects different people different ways... For instance, many people mention it on the back of their necks, but i rarely feel that. For me, it's always my legs. It can be embarassing at times, when i see something really cool or scary, and my leg hair is standing up... hehe

paul

3. Counterfit macrumors G3

Counterfit

Do you mean the "fingernails on a chalkboard" kind? Because metal utensils on ceramic plates and writing with chalk on construction paper do that to me...

4. agreenster macrumors 68000

agreenster

what makes your skin crawl?

John Stevens on American Idol and friggin Old Navy commercials

:shudder:

5. iGav macrumors G3

I love doing that... :D

My Bro hates Polystyrene... hates it... :eek: he can't even touch the stuff, puts his teeth on end... heheh I meanwhile am quite happy to chew it in front of him... heheheh :p