What Mouse? + OTHER

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by TheSith, Dec 31, 2004.

1. TheSith macrumors regular

Hi all!

First off, I cannot wait for MWSF. I've been waiting for a month to get my Powerbook and am at my nerve's end! This where my first question(s) ties in:

MWSF is Jan. 10th-14th - do you know when the Powerbook upgrade (if it is going to be released) will be announced? I know we cannot foresee the future but maybe a guess for past releases?

Once the upgrade is released, how soon can I get one from the Apple store? I won't want to wait for an online one and would prefer to get it in the store because of my education discount (I am a high school student - there is no option for that on the online store but they say it is allowed..) Let us say it is released on the 10th - can I go in that day and get one ??

Second question, I want a two button mouse with a scroll. It is just a necessity for what I do. What is the best one? I have asked on the Apple discussion boards and got quite a few negative responses from non-Apple bluetooth mice! Any help here? Should I get a wired one to "play it safe"?

Any advice you have would be MOST appreciated!

2. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

~Shard~

If PowerBooks are indeed announced at MWSF, you can safely estimate a realistic shipping date of at least 1 month (if not longer) afterwards. The lead time shouldn't be too long on a minor rev, which is most likely, but if Apple does announce some sort of G5/ dual-core G4 major upgrade, expect shipping times of a few months afterwards. By the time Apple would announce it, release a shipping date, delay that date, then start shipping low numbers of units out on the revised date, you effectively wouldn't have anew PB in your hands for quite some time. ;)

See my above comments. Unless Apple is REALLY good on its supply with this release, I would say you'd still have to wait a couple weeks, even if Jobs says, "Shipping Immediately".