What new mac should I get?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by nitynate, Jan 22, 2006.

1. nitynate macrumors 6502a

Hi. I am new to the mac scene, and I am 13 years old. I have been saving for a new mac for quite some time now. I have about $1350 to spend on a new mac. What do you think would be good for a kid who is looking to do mainly photoshoppe and internet?

2. tartsquid macrumors regular

tartsquid

I would say to go with a 17-inch iMac if you want a desktop, or an iBook if you want portability.

I'd personally go with an Intel iMac (and I'm planning to buy one soon :p) but others may have advice about the PPC vs Intel side of things.

Welcome to Macs!

3. ieani macrumors 6502a

ieani

Id go with iMac intel if you can wait for universal photoshop. If you cant then just buy a iMac G5.

4. nitynate thread starter macrumors 6502a

Thanks, do you think it would work with macromedia's fireworks? I dont like photoshoppe as much as i have been accustomed to fireworks. So, yeah, the 17" seems like a good deal....... What do others think?

5. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

Although I think the Intel iMac is a great idea, if it was me I'd also want to spend some money on extra RAM and maybe some other accessories like an external hard-drive for back-ups.

But from most accounts, you may want at least 1gb of RAM in the iMac.

6. nitynate thread starter macrumors 6502a

So a 17" Intel Imac with 1 gig of ram and?

7. tartsquid macrumors regular

tartsquid

Macromedia should update its software to work with the new Intels and in the meantime you can run the current version with Rosetta, though it may be a bit slow.

8. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

Well... you may prefer a different kind of mouse for example. But the RAM would be a priority if you want to do graphics on your new machine.

9. nitynate thread starter macrumors 6502a

Yeah, but it is bound to be faster than a celeron dell laptop right?

10. nitynate thread starter macrumors 6502a