What on earth?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by superted666, Aug 17, 2006.

  1. superted666 Guest

    superted666

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #1
  2. opik macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #2
    did you download any new software recently (speficially freeware)?
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    .
     
  4. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #4
    Close System Preferences, then look for a file called "com.apple.preferencepanes.cache"...it's in <your user directory>/Library/Caches. Drag it to your Desktop and then try opening System Preferences again. If all looks well, you can go ahead and trash the file you dragged to your Desktop.

    Edit: Arrgghh...thanks, EricNau. Looks like I don't need to come around here anymore...my posts get posted anyway. ;)
     
  5. superted666 thread starter Guest

    superted666

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #5
    some stuff for my new digi cam - calico for photo stitching a trial of photoshop cs2 err onyx and i installed windows yesterday using bootcamp.

    this is on a macbook btw

    Anyone no where the icons are stored i can see a last modified date through terminal
     
  6. superted666 thread starter Guest

    superted666

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #6
    You star! sorted it out now, really confused about how it got there though?
     
  7. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #7
    It seems you have to answer that question so often you have it permently copied to your clipboard. ;) :p

    I almost answered the question myself but it didn't seem quite right, so I made sure to give you the credit. ...After all, it's your official job here at MacRumors. :D
     
  8. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #8
    It's just a glitch with image caches...seems to be very common on the Intel-based machines for some reason.
     
  9. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #9
    This question seems to be popping up a lot lately, and its almost always intel Macs. I wonder if we should sticky the solution?
     
  10. superted666 thread starter Guest

    superted666

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    #10
    ahh okay, hadnt noticed any posts about it before and search turned up trumps!

    thanks for the help guys.

    Much appreciated
     
  11. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #11
    And put me out of a job? :( ;)
     
  12. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #12
    Apple knows about this.I've had a bug report at radarweb for a couple months.I'd assume a fix will be out on the next update.
     

Share This Page