what operating system did the Powerbook 170 run?

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by wwooden, Apr 10, 2005.

  1. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #1
    Hey guys, this is my first time entering this part of the forum to post something (I love the thread about the tablet!). Anyways, I found an old Powerbook 170 in our barn and i am curious as to what operating system it ran. I am also curious as to how I can get a copy of it. It starts up but it only gets to the point where it is flashing the folder icon, so there must not be anything on the harddrive. Thanks guys. I would love to get this thing going again and put Sim City back on it because I have great memories of playing it the back seat of my dads car, that blew me away at the time.
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    It cam with OS 7.0.1, the best it could run was OS 7.6.1. Where can you get that stuff? eBay. That's about it. That Mac was discontinuted over 12 years ago. I'd be wary that it's not lacking an OS, but that the hard drive is toast.
     
  3. wwooden thread starter macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #3
    If the harddrive is toast, it's no big deal. It's still fun to show my friends the computer. Thanks for the info.
     
  4. cubist macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
    #4
    I think you can download 7.5 from Apple. Copies of 7.6 are plentiful in eBay and flea markets too, tho. The 170 is black & white, right? But it is a sharp, bright screen.

    As long as you're on eBay, you might look for another older powerbook so you can swap power adapters, batteries, etc.

    If machines are stored in non-temperature-controlled areas, like barns, they experience bad thermal cycling each morning, including condensation which causes rust and corrosion. I'm surprised it works at all. I agree with yellow that the hard drive, and the floppy drive too, are probably ruined.
     
  5. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #5
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    To test the drive, it's probably best to download 7.0.1, as it's much smaller than 7.5 (Apple's server is slow!)
     
  8. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #8
    Then he'll need the System 7.0.1 boot/tools floppy.

    (Why Apple doesn't include these I don't know! :eek: )
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Huh? It's included in that archive I linked to (it's the Disk Tools file).
     
  10. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #10
    You can also mount all 19 images of 7.5.3, burn them to a CD on your computer, and then use the System 7.5 Network Access Floppy Disk (on that website of stuff) to install off of the CD.

    Of course, that is if you have a CD drive.

    You may just need to use 19 floppies... or 2 floppies. 1 is for Disk 1 and the other you keep formatting over and over and over again with 2-18. I've done that with a Windows 3.11 install. :eek: Not fun.
     
  11. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #11
    Oh, I just remembered there not be any with the 7.5.3. I had never checked out the 7.0.1 as I already had that System.

    :rolleyes: Learn something new everyday.
     
  12. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    The 7.5.3 installer on Apple's site is a mess. It's easier to download 7.5 (I've seen it on ftp.zip.com.au) then update it to 7.5.3 (and then to 7.5.5).
     

Share This Page