Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mac4Brains

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 18, 2005
I am seeking to run software on my SN Server that will alert me if a device goes down. All I can find is Windows stuff.

I live in an apartment complex that has over a hundred units and every unit has Internet access as part of the package. I was given the task of being the Johnny-on–the-spot for anything that goes down.

I have found stuff like the <DUDE Network Monitor> that will ping devices on the network every so often, and tell me if hub is no longer responding to a Ping. However DUDE is a windows program and I am a Mac only person. I don’t want something that is going to just search out one device, I need something to ping 100 routers about every 60 seconds 24/7, type of thing.

I do have a Mini server running my in home file sharing so I have a server running all the time, although I am no expert at running servers. Running a file server is about all I know how to do with it so far.

If anyone has any suggestion on what program I can use, please let me know.

Alrescha

macrumors 68020
Jan 1, 2008
The only answer I have is Xymon / Hobbit, which I know runs on OS X. Unfortunately, it is not a drop-in-and-run package, but something that needs to be compiled and installed via the command line/Terminal. If you aren't comfortable doing that sort of thing, you'll want to keep looking.

In any case, their web site (which is also a live demo of their monitoring system) is here:

http://www.hswn.dk/hobbit/

A.

belvdr

macrumors 603
Aug 15, 2005
I used Nagios for years without issue. Instead of pings, I'd use TCP packets to ensure you don't get erroneous pages.

cmuench

macrumors member
May 15, 2007
I use groundwork community edition to monitor about 30 servers.
It runs great inside a virtual machine.

Winni

macrumors 68040
Oct 15, 2008
Germany.