What program was used to make this site?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by br.avery, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #1
    Hi all,
    I am in the process of building a simple online portfolio, I really like how the following portfolio is set up, does anyone know what program was used to make this site?

    http://amy-allen.com/

    I know it's extremely simple coding but I'm not too familiar with this web design/coding stuff.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Hexiii

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    #2
    You can just write it in notepad or whatever. ;)

    It's just a text, you need to learn basics of HTML/CSS to do this.

    I can make you something like this if you would like. I will have a week free so PM me if you are interested.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    web_god61

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    #3
    Neat trick, most likely this was hand coded, transparent PNG + position: fixed is all you need.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    #4
    how do i do that fixed position of the contact information on the right?
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #5
    It's all done through the css with a property of "position: fixed"
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #6
    looks like a neat site for something so simple.
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    #7
    this website is very simple and easy to make, you don't even need to do any kind of programming stuff to make such kind of website....all you need is to get some basic knowledge of html and css and you are ready to go.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Hermes Monster

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Code:
    <html>
    	<head>
    		<title>Amy Allen</title>
    		
    		<link href="stylesheets/main.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
    
    		
    	</head>
    	<body>
    	
    	<div id="topBar"></div>
    
    	<div id="bottomBar"></div>
    	<div id="viewport">
    	
    	<div id="overlay">
    		
    		<div id="title">
    			<img src="images/vertical-title.png" alt="Amy Allen" />
    			
    			<div id="fillSpace"></div>
    			
    			<p><span id="name"><strong>Amy Allen</strong></span><br>
    				<span id="position">HAIR STYLIST</a></span><br /><br />
    
    				phone: 817.403.5434<br>
    				<a href="mailto:amyamyallen@gmail.com">amyamyallen@gmail.com</a>
    			</p>
    			
    			
    			
    		</div>
    		
    	</div>		
    		
    	<img src="images/1.jpg" /><br />
    	<img src="images/2.jpg" /><br />
    	<img src="images/3.jpg" /><br />
    
    	<img src="images/4.jpg" /><br />
    	<img src="images/5.jpg" /><br />
    	<img src="images/6.jpg" /><br />
    	<img src="images/7.jpg" /><br />
    	<img src="images/8.jpg" />
    	
    	
    	</div>
    	
    	
    	</body>
    </html>
    
    That's the site! Simples, Half a dozen DIVs mostly using postion:fixed and some margins and you're done! Very nice effect, for little effort
     
  9. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #9
    But a transitional doctype? bleck
     
  10. macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #10
    I have a similar thing on the logo and menubar of my website here.
     
  11. 7on
    macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #11
    Set your html to have a overflow-y:scroll css value. Keeps your site centered when navigating from long pages to short ones.
     
  12. macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #12
    I'm not great at web stuff. Yes I created my site but it was all by trial and error. What exactly does setting the overflow like above do? Oh and which element is it for? The container div?
     

Share This Page