What resolution should I use?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by chaseardoin7, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    chaseardoin7

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    #1
    just opened my :apple:TV and i'm setting it up. my question is, what resolution do i need to use? i'm using the :apple:tv on a 32" 720p HDTV.

    should i use:
    720p HD
    720p HD - 50Hz
    1080i HD - 50Hz
    1080i HD


    any advice?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #2
    Probably 720p HD if you are in the US (I'm assuming this is 60 Hz), 720p 50 Hz if you're in the UK (UK electric current is 50 Hz). No sense going to 1080 if your tv is 720 as you'll be doing two unnecessary scaling steps.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #3
    What in the world would the frequency of the electricity supply have to do with the scan frequency of the TV? :confused:
     
  4. macrumors 601

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #4
    It has a lot to do with it historically. That's why NTSC television runs at ~30 fps (two half-scans ~60 times per second) and PAL television runs at 25 fps (two half-scans 50 times per second). In other words, the scan rate was based on the electrical standard in use. Nowadays, yes, most flat panel televisions scan-convert everything anyway and can scan at many frequencies, but I believe Apple is using the 50 Hz tag to denote traditional European television standards. Just a guess though.
     
  5. macrumors member

    secondcup

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #5
    Yes! Just match the output of you AppleTv to match your tv any you're good to go!
    :)
     

Share This Page