Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

munckee

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 27, 2005
Ok, I'm just learning this thing and I have a couple of questions. I have a bunch of music on my external drive, divided into folders by genre. I opened iTunes and brought all of that music into my library. Now the file structure that those songs were in on my hard drive is all messed up. The songs are now grouped by artist outside of the genre folders on my hard drive. But some of the songs are still in the genre folders. They all show up in iTunes still, and they all have the right genre label.

Am I doing something wrong? Should I only import songs that I want to put onto my ipod into the itunes library (I'm controlling it manually because all my music won't fit into my ipod)? I'm confused :(

Lacero

macrumors 604
Jan 20, 2005
Let iTunes manage your music library. Has the option been set to do so?

If yes, then the songs are grouped according the ID3 tags found inside your MP3s. Proper tagging of MP3 files ensures you have them cataloged correctly in the correct folders on the HD.

Here's to the Crazy Ones

munckee

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 27, 2005
Lacero said:
Let iTunes manage your music library. Has the option been set to do so?

If yes, then the songs are grouped according the ID3 tags found inside your MP3s. Proper tagging of MP3 files ensures you have them cataloged correctly in the correct folders on the HD.

Here's to the Crazy Ones

Ok. Should I re-import all my music though to keep it from getting shuffled the first time round?

munckee

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 27, 2005