What size monitor is this

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Liquinn, Aug 19, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #1
    Could someone tell me what size the monitor is? Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #3
    It's weird how every G5 I've seen looks slightly different in other peoples set-ups
     
  4. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #4
    Yea, the fans look strange in that G5...

    Computers like cars, bicycles, watches, and partners reflect a persons values. Mine sits on the adjacent desk a left arm reach away from the optical and in front a window to let the heat out..
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #5
    "Computers like cars, bicycles, watches, and partners reflect a persons values."

    What do you mean? :p
     
  6. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #6
    On further reflection it looks like it has a G5 Jive in it which would explain the weird fans..
     
  7. Nameci, Aug 19, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012

    macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #7
    That looks like a 23" same as mine. But for some reason, it looks bigger, maybe it is just how the picture is taken?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #8
    Any ideas where I can get one in the UK? :p

    What's a Jive? :p
     
  9. Nameci, Aug 19, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012

    macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #9
    No idea where you can get from the UK, but even here in the US the prices are unreasonable for used ACD.

    The link to the "Jive"...
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Sonnet%20Technologies/ENCG53HD/

    The "Jive" can pack 3 hard drives, but you need a 4-port (because there is no 3-port) PCIe SATA card for it to work.
     
  10. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #10
    This is a G5 Jive..

    Never mind I don't read well..

    No I don't know where to get them in the UK either..

    I have the poor mans version 3 HDD's separated by foam core and 2way tape..
    They're powered by molex to SATA and 2 AS media SATA Cards....
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #11
  12. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #12
    For the best solution which I have already tried and liked, is to install a PCIe eSATA card to the G5 and connect an eSATA external RAID.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #13
    I didn't think there were any PCIe ports on a G5.
     
  14. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #14
    The '05 versions are PCIe
     
  15. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #15
    I have the late 2005 (which is the last version of powermac made) 2.5GHz Quad Powermac G5. Unfortunately, it has PCIe only expansion slots and PCIe graphics card.

    There are more, cheaper and better choices for PCI/PCI-x Powermacs than the PCIe ones imho.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #16
    Looks like I might have to spend 350 UK pounds on a 23" Cinema Display :eek:
     
  17. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #17
    They're 350 to 400 euro here..
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #18
    If you really wanted a complete setup... it is hobby, is it? And an expensive hobby.

    Mine I have slowly completed the setup.

    Before it is just a bare Powermac G5 quad with no hard disk and memory, parts included were an airport extreme card and bluetooth, the standard NVidia GeForce 6600 and a power cord when I bought it. As soon as it arrives I chucked 2 x 1GB sticks and it boots, from then on I have slowly rebuilt her.

    Here are the bits and pieces I added into it.

    1. 16 GB of OWC RAM (8 x 2GB)
    2. 64 GB SSD Boot Drive (previously it was 2 x 64 GB on RAID0)
    3. 512 MB NVidia Quadro FX4500
    4. 1 TB WD Caviar Black partitioned for Data Storage and internal Time Machine
    5. 1 2-port PCIe eSATA card from OWC
    6. 1 TB Bufallo Drive Station for Backup of Everything connected to eSATA
    7. iSight on Magentic Stand
    8. Wired Mighty Mouse (Magic mouse is PITA to use when doing CAD work)
    9. Apple Ultra Slim Wired Keyboard (to match the wired mighty mouse)
    10. Apple Cinema Display 23"

    Next in line is the Harman Kardon Soundsticks or B&W MM-1.

    With those pieces put together, they cost the same as a Mac Pro, but then if I have bought the MP, I have missed the fun of putting a Powermac G5 together. I don't care if the Mac Pro is faster and more modern, as long as I enjoy what I am doing and I am more than satisfied with it, that is all that matters. At the end of the day it is my satisfaction that matters not any other person's satisfaction. This is what I need and this is what I want.

    So go ahead, if money is not a brick wall on your path, satisfy yourself. Buy it if it suits your needs and your wants.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #19
    Woah nice, but when and if I buy the 23" Cinema Display, I'll want something else. :( It never ends. XD
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #20
    Right it never ends but for me there is this last item, if I will have the HK Soundsticks this month then this Powermac G5, I am done with it and will move on to another project.

    Both of my Powermac G4 MDD DP FW800, has iSight, Apple Cinema Displays, Apple pro keyboards, Apple Pro Mice, PCI USB Cards and Apple Pro speakers to match.

    My 2009 Mac Mini has its own Apple Cinema Display, wireless keyboard, iSight and Magic Mouse.

    As much as possible I keep the all genuine setup. It is a collection.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #21
    Is it worth me buying the 23" ACD or whatever monitor Apple brand I can use?

    It's a damn shame I can't get a 24/27" Cinema LED Display to work on the G5 :( It sucks haha.

    What Mac do you use the most and why? The G5? It'd be nice to have the full Apple set-up though. :):apple:
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #22
    First my apologies to the OP for the off topic replies.

    Anyway, to continue on.

    When I am back home the Powermac G5 quad got the most attention. The 2.3 dual core that it replaced is now sitting on the attic, if anything happens on my quad I can just replace it with the dual core.

    Why? Because I really like using it, browsing the internet, emails and stuff. I can't seem to remember I have seen beach balls using the power mac. Illustrator opens on a single bounce, Final cut opens on 2 bounces. Almost everything is instant.

    I have a mac mini and a macbook, I use the macbook when I am travelling because of the xp VM that I use for work. If not I will be lugging my powerbook all the time. My mac mini, well it is there as a media server and just there for trying new stuff. Most of the time it is asleep.
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #23
    No worries at all! :)

    The person who I spoke to lowered the price of the 23" ACD down to £325... is this a fair deal? I'm not sure what this is in dollars.

    I need that 23" ACD, then I can have a near complete set-up :p

    £325 seems awfully expensive, since for anoither £502 I could buy another Thunderbolt Display but I need this for my G5 ; thoughts?
     
  24. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #24
    It is all up to you. For that kind of money, yes it is expensive. If you can hold and wait for a better deal then wait. You don't really need it, you only want it. You still have a monitor to hook up to it, am I right?

    Have you watched the movie "The Big Year"... It is about a hobby of birding, and you can get some insights into it to control yourself from buying that ACD. Lol.
     
  25. Liquinn, Aug 19, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #25
    Yeah true, it does sound expensive. :( Apple products do hold their value, it'd be nice to have my 12th Apple product though. :D

    I really want another G5 too.

    This is cool, I really admire this set-up.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page