What sort of connector is this?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by AlBDamned, May 21, 2006.

  1. AlBDamned macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #1
    Hi all,

    Can anybody diagnose this screen connector at all. Is it just a regular old pc screen connector that I can get an adapter for?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. PatrickF macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Location:
    Blighty
    #2
    That looks like it could be one of the many SCSI connectors.
     
  3. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #3
    Looks like an HD50 SCSI connector to me. You will be able to buy a suitable SCSI controller card for your PC, providing it's got PCI (or newer) slots.

    I've never seen it used for video though.
     
  4. AlBDamned thread starter macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #4
    Thanks guys.

    FYI, it's connected to a 7-inch screen that I've got my hands on. I'm hoping to find a way of hooking it up to my Power Mac G4 project. Do you think that's a possibility? It has no power lead either so it's sort of an all in one...

    I know very little about these things!
     
  5. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    Wait, it can't be a SCSI connector if it is being connected to a monitor. SCSI was a data bus not video. I'm not sure what it is, but what is your goal with your G4 project? You'll need to somehow figure out how to get that thing connected to a VGA port. But I'm skeptical on it being SCSI.

    EDIT: http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/scsi_connecters.html
    Looks like Dynamic was right, although I still agree that it is not a video option.
     
  6. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #6
    GimmeSlack12, it's obviously not being used for SCSI in this case, but that's all I've ever seen this interface used for. It's got to be some obscure proprietary usage. It's not AS/400 or RS/6000 from IBM and definitely not from Sun. Maybe DEC?
     
  7. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #7
    Is the 7 inch screen a touch-screen, by any chance, or part of a CCTV system? There are clearly more pins than needed otherwise.
     
  8. AlBDamned thread starter macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #8
    Yep, it's a touch screen, I got it from a custom in-car navigation system. I'm not sure it'll work with the G4 but it didn't cost me anything (yet) so no harm done!

    I'd like to get it going though. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #9
    not going to be easy. You'll have to dig up the pinouts on that monitor and somehow cross-reference those to SVGA, then build a convertor cable, then hope the screen can handle the Mac frequencies.
     
  10. AlBDamned thread starter macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #10

    Hmmm, doesn't sound promising does it. The other thing I'm really worried about is the power. It was run off a 12v system before and I'm worried it'll fry on 'ol Sawtooth.
     
  11. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #11
    That's not a huge worry. You can splice together an AC adapter for it with far less trouble than trying to figure out a proprietary pinout :).
     
  12. cjc343 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    In the apple store, in front of a G5.
    #12
    Are there any distinguishing marks on the cord? Symbols or words on the plugs? Anything on the back of the screen?

    The more info, the easier it will be to find...
     
  13. AlBDamned thread starter macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #13
    Ok, it’s got quite a few markings on the cord and connector.

    On the actual SCSII connector head it says HONDA on it. Now, this didn’t come from a Honda car and as said it was a custom install, so not sure if that’s any help.

    On the cable itself, it says the following:

    E47891 AWM STYLE 20276 60°c 30V VW-1 LL33523 CSA AWM II A/B 60°c 30V FT1 FAST 20 1-800-832-2225
     
  14. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #14
    Did it come from an Acura? Seems to be a SCSI connector carrying a proprietary serial data stream...you might be able to get the pinout by contacting a dealer's maintenance shop for the brand of car that it came from. Say that you're trying a custom project and want to splice into the screen (don't say that you've removed it from the car and just want to play with it--they tend to be much more helpful when your question concerns the products they sell/support).
     
  15. galstaph macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #15
    I think that it looks quite like this connector: PCS-E50LMDG1 by honda connectors
    [​IMG]

    Any identifying marks on the display though? What is it out of?
     
  16. AlBDamned thread starter macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #16

    Nope, it didn't come from an actual Honda, it actually came from a Rover 75. I'm not sure where I could take it round here (South West London).
     
  17. AlBDamned thread starter macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #17

    Now that looks promising!

    As said above, it came from a Rover 75 but it was plugged in to some 12v terminal. It ran an advanced (for the time) sat-nav system and lots of other stuff. It was like a Q-car with cameras and stuff...
     
  18. cjc343 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    In the apple store, in front of a G5.
    #18
    http://www.techcable.com


    Got there through the phone number on the cable... couldn't find much more, but "Fast 20" suggests that it is definitely some variant of a SCSI Cable...

    Most of the rest is various specs, but LL33523 and E47891 might not be, although I couldn't find anything helpful about them...

    I'd say Honda Connectors and Technical Cable Concepts is a good start... contacting them might help you further...

    Are there any other markings on the screen? Or is that it? Are you willing to open up the screen and start reading off markings inside it? :p

    Since it seems highly doubtful that the SCSI cable was carrying video, I'm going to guess that it was carrying data and power to the screen, which has the software and hardware to actually display the data it gets inside it... just a guess though... (i.e. the screen is actually a mini computer which processes data and then displays it in a human-readable format.)
     
  19. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #19
    It ain't the type of connector what's the problem here -- it's what in tarnation each pin is carrying --

    quite obviously it is a proprietary system, using an off-the shelf connector which happens to be the same or similar to a high density SCSI connector -- But that counts for nada, the cable spec if not going to get you any closer -- it will be transmitting power, perhaps video (whether digital or analog we don't know), perhaps antenna signals, and perhaps returning touch screen signals. If the unit were completely self-contained in the screen assembly, I can't see why they would use a connector with this many pins.
    This is gonna be a MAJOR headache.
     
  20. AlBDamned thread starter macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #20
    Quite likely and is it worth it? I e-mailed Honda Connectors UK and they've referred me to their local distributors.

    I'll get in touch with them and if it's too much work I'll give the screen back. The whole purpose of the G4 project is to make it cheap (so far I've been sourced everything for no money at all, save a £3 RCA video cord).

    A cheap TFT screen is £50-70 so that's what I'll have to do if it comes to and that, along with an uprated hard drive somewhere down the line, will be all I spend on it, hopefully.

    Not giving up hope yet on this touchscreen however.
     
  21. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #21
    They probably can't help if it's just a generic data connector. Only the car manufacturer would know what type of signal is carried on each pin.
     
  22. mpw Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    #22
    And Rover went bust a year or two ago.:(
     
  23. matticus008 macrumors 68040

    matticus008

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #23
    Well that's just not good, now, is it? :( This is turning out to be quite the adventure!
     
  24. AlBDamned thread starter macrumors 68030

    AlBDamned

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    #24
    LOL.

    I could probably get hold of whatever it was plugged into before, but not for a few weeks.

    Rover did indeed go bust a while back, but this equipment isn't anything to do with Rover itself.

    However, I might be able to find out who installed it in the Rover a little bit faster...
     
  25. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
    #25
    In my opinion this endeavor is a dead end. A complete waste of time other than for the thrill of making something that shouldn't work work. Wouldn't it be much easier to simply get a different monitor?
     

Share This Page