What sorta Mac do you have?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by mmmdreg, May 27, 2002.

?

What macs do you have? select more than one...

  1. PowerMac

    32 vote(s)
    52.5%
  2. PowerBook

    21 vote(s)
    34.4%
  3. iMac

    9 vote(s)
    14.8%
  4. iBook

    7 vote(s)
    11.5%
  5. iMac (classic)

    10 vote(s)
    16.4%
  6. pre-G3 mac

    14 vote(s)
    23.0%
  7. I don't have a Mac

    3 vote(s)
    4.9%
  1. mmmdreg macrumors 65816

    mmmdreg

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #1
    Just wondering what sort of Mac is used by most Mac users...
     
  2. resm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    my Mac's

    well....I have a Tower G4/533 MHZ and an iMac 800

    the first one runs on OS 9 only and the iMac of course on OS X and classic.

    Power Mac for work and the iMac more for pleasure :D
     
  3. wsteineker macrumors 6502a

    wsteineker

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    #3
    I've got my Cube (G4 450, 80 gb hd, 1.5 gb ram, Radeon) with a 15'Apple Studio Display, and I love it. It's a great machine, but it's getting a little long in the tooth. Instead of junking it or trading it in, though, I think I'm going to take a ride on the upgrade train. I already upgraded the RAM and the HD (replaced it with the stock 20), but I think a GeForce3 is in order (for QE), as is a G4 500 DP upgrade from Sonnett. I think that'll give the old girl a few more years. Just can't bear the thought of losing her quite yet. She's my first PowerMac, you know. ;)
     
  4. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #4
    I have a g4 imac, combo drive with 512 ram with OS 10.1.5
    and a g3 imac, 400mhz, 320 ram with 10.1.2 (not connected to the net)
    I used my g3 imac a mp3 player
     
  5. OSeXy! macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    London (or virtually here)
    #5
    LC II - maxed out with 10MB RAM:)

    iMac 233 Bondi. Still hanging in there for all things www.

    Powerbook Pismo 500. Great machine which I hope will get a bit of kick from Jaguar... Maybe save me a hardware upgrade for another 6 months or a year... We'll see.

    The funny thing is that a teenage nephew of mine came around the other week and thought the LC was coolest and newest. He couldn't believe that a computer so slim and minimal was almost as old as he was.
     
  6. crassusad44 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Location:
    Scandinavia
    #6
    PowerMac DP 800 with 80 gig drive and 512 MB mem.

    Along with a Mac Classic, 2x Mac SE, Mac IIfx, Mac IIsi, LC III, Performa 450, Performa 5300, Quadra 800, PowerMac 8200, and a Duo 230 with dock.
     
  7. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
  8. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #8
    I have a rev a Tibook 500 with 768MB RAM, and a puny little 20GB hard drive.
     
  9. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #9
    Hey, mmmdreg, maybe you should have added a G4 Cube in your list...wsteineker is not alone! :eek:

    I have three computers:
    G4 Cube
    0.5GHz
    1024MB RAM
    30GB Hard Drive
    DVD-ROM
    Extras: Original 15 inch graphite translucent Apple LCD Monitor
    Non-Apple accessories: Epson 880, Lacie CD-RW

    iBook Firewire (Graphite)
    466MHz
    128MB RAM (Maybe...)
    10GB Hard Drive
    DVD-ROM
    Extras: None
    Non-Apple accessories: None

    iMac Bondi Blue
    233MHz (soon to be upgraded to a 500MHz G3)
    160MB RAM
    4GB Hard Drive (I should realy update this!)
    CD-ROM
    Extras: Apple Pro Keyboard, Apple Pro Mouse
    Non-Apple accessories: Epson 740i
    __________________

    Fear the King.
     
  10. wsteineker macrumors 6502a

    wsteineker

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    #10
    YES!!! Thank you King Cobra! I knew I wasn't the only Cube owner out there. Everyone thinks I'm crazy for having one when I could have gotten a used tower for the same price, but I just LOVE it. I guess you have to own one to know what I mean... :)
     
  11. iGav macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    #11
    I run a...

    Rev A TiBok 500, with 512 ram, 20Gb HD and a Maxtor 80Gb firewire drive, pro-mouse, pro-keyboard, wacom tab, sony LCD display for dual monitors, soundsticks and isub, epson printer.

    Runs OSX natively now..... I made the switch at the weekend after having OSX as my occasional OS, because I've just got PS 7, Illustrator 10, FCP 3, AE 5.5, Flash MX, GoLive 6, Indesign 2, Office X, Dreamweaver MX and MAYA.... so I decided that as I can get the majority of the software I use, now runs in OSX that I'd make the jump...... I'm just waiting for Director to really make the transaction complete!!

    This is all due to be upgraded around about Jan to feb 03, I have $10k budget so hopefully MWSF 03 will be releasing some 'Pukka' machines......

    Now where's ensign...... his collection is like huge!!!
     
  12. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #12
    I have a rev. c TiBook 800MHz with 768MB of RAM... I have kept the stock 40GB drive inside of it, at least until my new 60GB arrives. I will decide once the new 60GB arrives if I keep the 40GB inside or not. Right now, it looks like I will keep the 40 inside and make the 60 an external. Either way, I will have a total of 170GB attachable to the TiBook. :D

    Not too shabby.
     
  13. menoinjun macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #13
    My machine is pretty stocked right now. IMO

    Dual 533
    768 Megs ram
    40gig HD, 20Gig HD IDE drives
    9.1 gig UW SCSI drive
    Adaptec 2940UW SCSI card
    Radeon 32MB ddr (soon to be GeForce4)
    Digidesign AudioMedia III Digital Audio Card
    CDRW (soon to be superdrive)
    10.1.4 (soon to be 10.2, I have a friend...)

    I plan on having this machine last me another 2 years or so. I'm going to try and make my drives all scsi, but that requires money that I don't have.

    -Pete
     
  14. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #14
    My main machine is my Rev. A TiBook 500...I still love it even thought the video sucks when compared to newer versions...

    I have a G4 400 PowerMac at work...a bit slow yes...but it is AGP and does the job quite well enough...

    I also have an old Motorola Starmax 4000 somewhere around here....it's got a 200 mhz 604e processor if I'm not mistaken....pretty useless.... ;)
     
  15. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #15
    The video card may suck when compared to newer versions (shame i can't play RTCW :( ), but it still has a bit of life in it. I've just spent most of the past weekend getting fragged in Q3A over the university LAN with a bunch of friends. The frame rates are perfectly respectable.

    I still want a rev. c model though :p
     
  16. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #16
    733 Quicksilver, Lime 333 iMac, PowerPC 6320CD, Mac LCII, and Apple IIc

    edit : oh, yeah and a Mac Classic
     
  17. TiMacLover macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Location:
    Clovis, CA USA
    #17
    This is my load of collection

    Here is my load...

    - iMac 266Mhz Tangerine ( soon G4 or 333 Upgrade)
    - Macintosh LC
    - Powerbook 145b
    - Macintosh SE SuperDrive
    - Macintosh SE
    - Macintosh 512k
    - Macintosh Plus
    - Macintosh 512k
    - Macintosh Classic
    - Macintosh Quadra 610
    - Macintosh Performa 6300 w/ TV card, S-Video,Video In/Out Ports
    - Apple //c
    - Apple //e
    - Apple //e
    - Apple //e+
    - Apple Quicktake 200 Digital Camera
    - Apple StyleWriter 2500
    - iMac Banner, 15+ Mac related posters
    - 14' Apple Multiscan Monitor
     
  18. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #18
    no kidding....I figure that by the time I'm in the market for a new machine...we may possibly be seeing them come with 128 MB VRAM...

    I'd be hella happy to know I held out...he he he :D
     
  19. joshb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    *GASP* A L A B A M A (Hoover)
    #19
    I've got a few macs...

    G3 iMac (Snow)
    G3 iMac (Graphite)
    PowerMac 8600/250
    Starmax 3000/200 with a G3 proccessor in it.
    Macintosh IIcx
    Macintosh Quadra 800
    Power Macintosh 6100/60
    Power Macintosh G4 Titanium PowerBook

    and a Embedded Linux System on a G4 in my Lexus.
     
  20. Backtothemac macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #20
    Here are mine.
    iMac 600 SE Flower Power.
    1 Gig of Ram
    40 Gig Hard Drive
    External 60 Gig
    Sound Sticks

    iBook 600 Combo Drive
    384 MB Ram
    20 Gig Hard Drive

    Epson Stylus C60, Lexmark Z45, Cannon Scanner. Linksys Router.

    All in all it is a nice little network. I connect my iMac to my Home Theater for 700 watts of MP3's heaven though. :cool:
     
  21. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #21

    No kidding :D I'd be pretty darn pleased with a portable with 128 MB VRAM!!!

    How long do you think it might be before we start seeing that sort of power on a portable mac? I doubt i'd be able to hold out as long as it's likely to take unfortunately... perhaps when (if) the tibooks (or powerbook G5 by then?) have a geforce 4go in them.... *drool*
     
  22. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #22
    britboy, need a towel? :)

    I am pretty sure that somebody will be buying a PBG5 well after the PowerMacs are updated to G5. I wonder who wants a G5 that bad...
    __________________

    Fear the King.
     
  23. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #23
    Again, another poll with missing options.

    I have a PowerMac, TiPB and a PowerComputing Power Tower. I mostly use the Macs and I'm giving the clone to my parents, since they don't have a computer and they'll only be using it for internet and email, it should do them fine. Eventually they'll want to upgrade, I'm sure and I'll be able to steer them to a new iMac or iBook.
     
  24. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #24
    Okay, may as well throw in my load too...

    Apple //c
    Macintosh Plus
    Macintosh Classic
    Macintosh Portable
    Macintosh IIcx
    Macintosh IIfx
    Macintosh SE/30
    Macintosh LCII
    Quadra 660AV
    Quadra 800
    PowerMac 7100
    PowerMac 7500
    PowerMac 8500
    PowerMac G3 Tower
    PowerMac G4
    iMac (bondi rev.B)
    iBook (clamshell tangerine)
    Newton MessagePad 130
    Newton MessagePad 2100

    Okay, so the Newtons aren't Macs... blah blah blah! :D
     
  25. Backtothemac macrumors 601

    Backtothemac

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Location:
    San Destin Florida
    #25
    Dear God man, we have to get you out of the house more often ;) Seriously that is quite a collection. Do they all run? How do you delegate time to the systems. For Example. If I stll had my old blueberry iBook, I would probably do more on that than any of my other Macs. I loved that toliet seat looking, 50 pound, purse....he,he...
     

Share This Page