What speed is your proc?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Beej, Aug 5, 2002.

?

What is the clock speed of your main Mac?

  1. Dual GHz - all bow before me

    11 vote(s)
    12.6%
  2. Dual less than GHz

    9 vote(s)
    10.3%
  3. G4 less than 500

    13 vote(s)
    14.9%
  4. G4 less than 733

    16 vote(s)
    18.4%
  5. G4 733+

    18 vote(s)
    20.7%
  6. G3 less than 400

    6 vote(s)
    6.9%
  7. G3 400+

    12 vote(s)
    13.8%
  8. Less than G3

    2 vote(s)
    2.3%
  1. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #1
    Just wondering what the clock speed of everyone's main Mac is...
     
  2. MacMaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #2
    My main Mac is a G4 450(see my profile). My family's main Mac is a G4 800.
    So I vote for G4 less than 500.
     
  3. Shrek macrumors 65816

    Shrek

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Nashville, Tennessee USA
    #3
    Wish I had one, but if I did it would probably be a G5 equivalent to that of a Dual 1GHz or faster, so that's what I chose.
     
  4. evildead macrumors 65816

    evildead

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Location:
    WestCost, USA
    #4
    867

    I have an 867G4 with 1.2GB RAM, 2x 60GB HDs, SoundSticks and iSub, Apple 17in LCD, and a Wireless network to connect the house up.
     
  5. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    Dual 1Ghz baby yeah! Groovy!
    Life is sweet....and mighty quick! :D
     
  6. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #6
    My main[e] Macs would be my Firewire iBook at 466MHz, and my iMac at 233MHz. :D

    My most used Mac...you should know. If not, profile, duh. :p :rolleyes:
     
  7. jelloshotsrule macrumors G3

    jelloshotsrule

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Location:
    serendipity
    #7
    i have a dual 800.

    etc.

    wouldn't mind a new one but i won't have the means...
     
  8. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #8
    The G4 I use at work is a 733MHz, but my own home TiBook is an 800MHz model... The tower at work is the last model before they went to the QuickSilver flavor, so it has the superdrive inside... :D
     
  9. iGav macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    #9
    500Mhz PowerBook G4........

    But that is changing in Feb 03..... for something with a little more poke...... heh heh... ;) :D
     
  10. Geert macrumors 6502a

    Geert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2001
    Location:
    .be
    #10
    Got a 450 iMac DV.
    Wouldn't mind having a fast DP G4 system :D
     
  11. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #11
    I have 3 main machines, although the two power macs are current dead but I have just got the money to get them repaired after the power surge. They are:

    Powerbook G4 500
    Powermac Dual800 + 867
    Powermac Dual500 (OC to 533)

    All these machines belong to my work par the Powerbook, I had a 667 powerbook but when it fell fowl to the power surge work took it for repair and never gave it me back :) Its now in use in part of the design dept.

    For the last week at work I have been using a 2 Dual 1-ghz G4s because there was nobody to work on them because of the CW Games.

    Ensign
     
  12. billiam0878 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    #12
    I've got a 500Mhz TiBook and my mother has a 500MHz Cube-- I guess we were both part of Moto's "500MHz drought." Oh well, they both work great :)


    Bill
     
  13. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #13
    yeah, that 500mhz was annoying, now that it is out of the way I think it will be a slow but sucsessful catchup :)

    Ensign
     
  14. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #14
    TiPB 400, waiting for "...oh, and one more thing".:)
     
  15. jefhatfield Retired

    jefhatfield

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    #15
    300 mhz ibook
    366 mhz pc laptop

    ...i guess i have to be thinking about new machines

    i have my eyes set on basic ibook at $1199 for home use and basic pc desktop (compaq 1.4 ghz celeron w/monitor) for $799 for pc repair business and testing pc software
     
  16. Tiauguinho macrumors 6502a

    Tiauguinho

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #16
    I have:

    PowerMac G4 DP 1Ghz with 1Gb of RAM

    and a

    PowerBook G4 550Mhz with 768Mb of RAM


    Both runing OS X.1.5
     
  17. Pismo macrumors 6502

    Pismo

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Location:
    NH
    #17
    I have a PowerBook G3 400 MHz (Pismo). I hope to get a new PowerBook when/if they hit 1 GHz.
     
  18. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #18
    Me too! I think there are quite alot of people around here waiting for the magic 1Ghz CPU to hit the TiBook :D
     
  19. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #19
    I still think the Pismo is a great machine, non-fragile, not that the TiBook is fragile but it seems to be :) I also think the Pismo is great looking.

    Ensign
     
  20. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #20
    Yeah??? How 'great looking' are the wear marks from where your hands sit while using the keyboard?? :p :D
     
  21. MacMaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #21
    ...and an L3 cache. When they went to the quicksilver I think they got rid of that on the 733...Proof from everymac.com:
    See the L3 cache there...
    Where's the L3 cache?
    See...
     
  22. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #22
    And in less than a month... mighty outdated! :D :p
     
  23. Ensign Paris macrumors 68000

    Ensign Paris

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Europe
    #23
    Never thought of that, infact I have only used a Pismo a few times, I never owned one, although I do have a PowerBook G3Series under my bed somewhere ;)

    Ensign
     
  24. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #24
    my main Mac is my 500 MHz TiBook...

    however, I do use a 400 MHz PowerMac at work...but only decided to vote once since I don't technically own it... ;)
     
  25. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #25
    So, where does that put my dual 800? Wait, don't answer that! I just bought the thing in June at a very reduced price, so it doesn't hurt much.
     

Share This Page