What systems are you running Aperture on ?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jsfpa, Dec 31, 2005.

  1. jsfpa macrumors regular

    jsfpa

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    #1
    I'm interested in Apple's new "Aperture". I am wondering how well it will run on my system. I have a single processor 1.8 ghz G5 with a 256 meg ATI Radeon pro. I know it meets the lower end requirements but I don't want something that will drag.

    So what are people running it on and how well does it run?
    :confused:
     
  2. Jon'sLightBulbs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    Runs absolutely spanking perfect on my dual core 2.3. My next project... installing aperture on my 1ghz pb. :)

    edit: when I install it on the PB, I'll let you know how it works.
     
  3. psycho bob macrumors 6502a

    psycho bob

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    #3
    Well I have Aperture installed on two systems one is a dual 2.5 Powermac but more relavently for your own question I also have it installed on a 1.67GHz Powerbook. It runs suprisingly well, the interface is smooth and the loupe suprisingly responsive. There is a wait while each image loads but this is no worse then earlier versions of iphoto. You will be fine with your system, if you have the first revsion single 1.8 with the extra RAM slots think about filling those up. You have planty of VRAM so as long as you don't expect the smoothest performance out there I think you'll find it more than useable.
     
  4. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #4
    I run Aperture on rev. B iMac (see sig) and it runs very well. The only thing that is slow is GUI effects (Loupe, transition between full screen and normal modes etc.).

    By the way, which exactly card do you have? "256 meg Radeon pro" doesn't say much.
     
  5. jsfpa thread starter macrumors regular

    jsfpa

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    #5
    Sorry, it is an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro with 256 meg running dual screens.


    Thanks,
    John
     
  6. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #6
    I've got it installed and running pretty smoothly on my iBook G4... You should be alright :)
     
  7. ekenny macrumors regular

    ekenny

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Did you have to do anything special? It wouldnt install on my Rev A. iMac G5. I dont think my video card met the minimum requirements.
     
  8. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #8
    I have it installed on my 1.25Ghz PowerBook with a 7200RPM hard drive, 1.5GB of RAM and a 64MB Radeon 9600 Mobility.

    It's not fast, and it makes me want to upgrade to a new machine, but it is certainly useable. I've been using it with RAW images from my new Canon Rebel XT (8MP).
     

Share This Page