What The Heck is an "Invalid Node structure"? (Disk Utility)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by BiikeMike, Mar 25, 2007.

  1. macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #1
    My Computer has been acting wonky lately (What else is new?) Its a CD MPB 2.16, 10.4.9, 2 gigs APPLE RAM.

    I have been getting a lot of dropped frame notices in Soundtrack pro, and it straight up froze yesterday while running a live show..... That = NOT GOOD.

    I ran ONYX, and it said something was wrong with the startup disk. Out comes Disk Utility. When I click "verify disk" I get an error after "Checking Catalog file" that says

    Invalid node structure
    The volume Macintosh HD needs to be repaired

    Error: The underlying task reported failure on exit


    So, out comes the Startup DVD. Run Disk utility, click "repair disk" I get the same error, "the underlying task reported failure on exit" and it won't fix it.

    Whats the deal??
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Veritas&Equitas

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    #2
    Are you sure you booted from the disk? I had the same problem when trying to install Vista. Popped out the OS X install disk, booted from it, ran disk utility, and repairing the disk worked for me?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #3
    yep, positive it was from the disk. you can't repair the startup disk otherwise.
     
  4. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    The Invalid Node Structure means that the cataloging system that keeps track of where everything is on your hard drive is b0rked. TechTool Pro may fix it, as may DiskWarrior -- however some people have reported no success with both. If you haven't already make sure your data is backed up! Do it now! Ultimately, a reformat of the hard drive is the last solution.

    http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20070204134513557

    If errors like these repeatedly crop up, assume that your hard drive is failing.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #5
    DiskWarrior saved the day for me

    I had this same issue (Macbook), and Diskwarrior replaced the directory and solved the problem.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #6
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #7
    Good theory there, Amigo, only problem with it is that I installed ONYX AFTER the problems started. Thought it might fix it.

    Guess I'll be doing a SuperDuper! backup tonight and then calling AppleCare. Not that I don't think I can't do it without somone from India on the phone, I just want them to have on file all the problems I'm having with this freakin thing!
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Location:
    MI or NJ
    #8
    Thats an error that Disk Utility simple will NOT fix, regardless of what you boot off of.

    Diskwarrior has fixed the error for me a couple of times.

    But the underlying problem is that something is fscking up your filesystem. Many times there is a hardware problem that is messing up your HD writes, if you don't fix this then you'll be repairing / re-installing all the time. Hard shutdowns sometimes do it, bad RAM also causes it. My recommendation is to run a memory tester such as memtestosx and see if the RAM is to blame.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    i got that problem so i formatted and at that moment the hd failed.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #10
    Yeah, This is GREAT!

    Now it wont recognize my external drive!

    And I know its not the RAM, Because I just had it in the Apple store not 2 months ago for ANOTHER problem that resulted in complete data loss. they Checked the RAM, and it was fine.

    This is REALLY starting to Piss me off!
     
  11. macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #11
    CanadaRAM is right on the money. You need a heavy-duty disk repair utility and you need it now!
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #12
    UH OH!

    I'm assuming this is not good??

    I finally got it to recognize my external (How, I'm not sure, I switched from Firewire to USB a few times, then put it back in my desktop via FW, and ejected it, and put it back into my Laptop via USB :confused::rolleyes: )

    Anyway, Got SuperDuper! Up and running, and it "failed to copy files from Macintosh HD to MacBookBackup" (MacBookBackup is my backup partition)

    The Last few lines of the Log are as follows: I have no idea what any of it means


     
  13. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #13
    $100 Diskwarrior, probably a partial recovery.


    Tech Tool Pro may work, but Diskwarrior is the best option.

    Otherwise repartition the drive and reinstall and start from scratch.

    before reinstalling, do the extended hardware test to make sure the drive itself is still ok.
     
  14. macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #14
    Try to drag-copy your important files to the backup drive.

    The last time I needed DiskWarrior, the recovery was 100% from an un-mountable and unbootable drive.
     
  15. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #15
    IIRC: If DiskWarrior can read the files on the drive (IF) then before repairing them, it will give you the option of a temporary disk image, from which you can back up files - so be ready with an external volume mounted to take the files.

    Expect that some of your files will be damaged beyond recovery.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #16
    Now I'm running Carbon Copy Cloner, and it gave me an I/O error that had to do with iWeb, but I hit skip, and it seems to be working.....

    I'm frightened here guys......!
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #17
    your image probably wont mount...but still worth a try since its free.
     
  18. macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #18
    Running DiskWarrior generates this message as a text file, within the Damaged Items or Rescued Items folders:

     
  19. thread starter macrumors 65816

    BiikeMike

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    #19


    Why is that? I'm not making an image, I'm making a clone.

    I got another error..... Had to do with Epson printer drivers
     
  20. macrumors 6502

    rhoydotp

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    #20
    have you ever tried

    fsck -y /dev/disk0s2

    where disk0s2 would be your "/"

    it is your inode structure that has been screwed up.
     
  21. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #21
    there the same thing and your copying an unbootable drive now, often times making an image does not fix it without a third party utility.

    Have you done the extended hardware test? All your efforts could be futile if your drive went bad.

    Do you back up your data? If so, then just repartition and start from scratch. If not, dish out $100 for diskwarrior.
     
  22. macrumors member

    dingdong

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #22
    hey guys i'm having the same problem with invalid node stucture.
    i'll be getting a external hard disk soon to backup files..
    will this solve the issue if i format the drive and reinstall mac os?

    i really hope its nothing to do with the hard disk being damaged. i am running on mac osx fine atm nothing is happening majorly yet and i feel that this invalid node stucture does not sound right so i wanna fix this...

    has this affected my hard disk at all?

    cheers
     
  23. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #23
    Run the Extended Hardware test found on your install CD that first came with your computer.

    This will probably take near a half hour if successful.

    If the hard drive part is successful, then repartition should solve your problem and you will be able to move on.

    If not, then it is very likely your drive is screwed and will need to be replaced.
     
  24. macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #24
    An "invalid node structure" is almost certainly not a hardware problem, it is almost certainly a logical problem on your hard drive, which can be fixed with drive repair software, such Disk Warrior or Tech Tool. You do not want to assume worse until you have tried this method of disk recovery.
     
  25. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    #25
    My most recent encounter with this issue was for me a hardware problem, so thats why I suggest running the hardware test(free and fast) just to alleviate any concerns so you don't waste time if the problem happens again shortly after. If all my data was backed up and I did not own Disk Warrior or Tech Tool then I would repartition(free and fast).

    I would not recommend Tech Tool Pro for this job. Tech Tool is better for diagnosing, but not necessarily for fixing. Disk Warrior is made to fix and thats it. If you decide that you need data that you are willing to pay for then skip right to Disk Warrior, IMO.

    If you have everything you need, then why pay, just repartition?

    But its good that we did clear up any confusion and your points are valid.
     

Share This Page