What the Heck is this Thing?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by tjwett, Jul 10, 2003.

  1. tjwett macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #1
    did i fall asleep and miss something? this pic is located on the XServe page at Apple's site under the title "Cluster Configuration". i don't recognize it at all. can someone fill me in?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tom800 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
  3. MacUser1 macrumors 6502

    MacUser1

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Location:
    CT
    #3
    xserve cluster configuration

    yeah, this has been around since the xserve was updated to 1.33 GHz. it's a node that is used in a cluster of xserves.
     
  4. Wardofsky macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2002
  5. encro macrumors 6502

    encro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    bendigo.victoria.au
    #5
    It's a cluster configuration. It's missing the CDRW drive and an ethernet port but has an extra processor instead for the same price.

    It's used for Rendering Farms and the like. You would buy 1 standard xServe and then link up more cluster nodes to process information faster for example with Shake or XCode.
     
  6. tjwett thread starter macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #6
    thanks guys, i can't believe i missed this thing. if it has no ethernet, what does it use to connect to other machines, say in a render environment? is this where Fiber Channel comes in? thanks again.
     
  7. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #7
    -tjwett

    Ayep! What good is a render farm is your nodes' connections are slow?
     
  8. tjwett thread starter macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
  9. encro macrumors 6502

    encro

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    bendigo.victoria.au
    #9
    I didn't mean it had no ethernet port. It has 1 only instead of the 2 on the standard xServe. But yes you would definately link via a 2GB Fibre Channel.
     

Share This Page