What the heck keyboard did I get?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by MrMacMan, Jan 16, 2006.

  1. MrMacMan macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #1
    Alright so I'm going to call Apple Tomorrow for a replacement keyboard (i hope they say ok...) because whatever keyboard I received (spanish is my current guess) is really aggravating me.

    There is to tilde button... the parentheses are in the wrong spot (i hit the shift 8 button where is shows an image of a parentheses and it is really * )

    the image of the keyboard:

    image

    I just opened my Dual Core 2.3 GHZ PowerMac G5 and i thought I got the wrong keyboard but thought it would operate the same... it doesn't. all the placement is wrong and its killing me to figure out all of the different locations.

    Can anyone help/ describe what keyboard I received with my powermac?

    --MrMacMan
     
  2. NYmacAttack macrumors 6502

    NYmacAttack

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #2

    My guess would be you got the Western Spanish version.
     
  3. bigsteve3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    IL
    #3
    Yes, that is indeed the Western Spanish keyboard...note the "ayuda" key, which means "help" in Spanish, as well as the ñ key. Perhaps you can exchange with Apple or sell the keyboard on eBay?
     
  4. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #4
    are there any funky things I should be wary of like 'don't press this button is deleted everything'

    :D
     
  5. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #5
    heh that is pretty funny. Spanish keyboard isn't hard to learn, although you don't speak spanish so it is probably useless. However, I can help you in your dire need.

    goto system preferences->international->input menu tab. Ok at the bottom just "Show input menu on the tool bar". After that in the list of countries select "U.S.". go ahead and show all then x. You see a little flag on the right right now, clickie it and make sure it the American flag (or whatever country english speaking country you are from) is selected. You should be able to type using the standard keyboard you are used to, just the keys will be labeled differently. That should help you in the mean time. I switch between english and spanish keyboard all the time. I hope you have your keyboard memorized.
     
  6. tweakers_suck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    Parece aceptable a mí.
     
  7. pknz macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #7
    Now remember, your not using a PC.
     
  8. iEdd macrumors 68000

    iEdd

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    I didn't think you even had to press a button for all your stuff on a PC to be deleted. :confused: :rolleyes: ;) Or is it recycled?
     
  9. MrMacMan thread starter macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #9
    yeah but i still get § instead of tilde which some programs use...

    ah i found the tilde key its the key above alt and to the right of shift on the bottom left side of the keyboard.

    its still really annoying tho! ahh!
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    Para mí también. :D
     
  11. rt_brained macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    Creativille
    #11
    Ha! Who ever put that keybord tegether was ether drunk off his ass or a dam rheetard!
     
  12. Danksi macrumors 68000

    Danksi

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2005
    Location:
    Nelson, BC. Canada
  13. gordonese macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    #13
    @

    Hi Superbovine,

    You mentioned that you are constantly switching between the English and Spanish keyboards on your mac, I do the same but I always have to switch back to the English or French keyboard when I want to input the arroba @, do you know how to input it using the Spanish keyboard?

    Thank you.



     
  14. Kuski macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

Share This Page