What to buy from Apple?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by tvman13, Sep 12, 2004.

  1. tvman13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    I am looking to purchase 2 new macs from Apple for my class. I have been told recently to buy the minimal amound of ram and hard drives from them and then purchase it from another source. I could then add it on.

    Any opinions on this? :confused:

    The 1st G4 that I purchased, someone else paid for, so I had everything added to it I could.
     
  2. paxtonandrew macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Location:
    I Come From A Land Down Under
    #2
    What are you planning on using the computers for? If they are just going to be a Internet box, with iLifing, eMacs or iBooks will do the job perfectly. If they are going to be for heavy Photo-shopping, then a PowerMac is the only option, IMHO. But before we can help, we need to know what you want to use the computers for.
     
  3. tvman13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    We are looking at a G5 tower. I teach high school video production and use FCP and DVD Studio Pro. Last year we used the G4 for producing a 1 hour DVD, but had to take final rendering and authoring to a studio to meet the deadline.

    I just reread my first post. Let me clarify it. We are purchasing the G5 tower, but not sure about getting the RAM and hard drive from Apple. The computer costs at the educational part of the Apple store are great, but wondering about the other things that can be added later.
     
  4. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #4
    You can add more RAM and bigger hard drives later. They are user-installable parts, meaning that even Apple things you're capable of installing them :D It is cheaper to buy the RAM from another source rather than from Apple.
     
  5. fregedegpo macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    #5
    but be carefull....

    You just want to choose your memory very very carefully. Yes, you can save much money, but you definitely want to still buy a brand that has an excellent rep, such as Crutial. Funny, I was just thinking the same thing... I bought a G5 2 gig not long ago and bought all my memory from Kingston and it all made my computer crash. Turned out that Kingston had had a really really big bad batch and they replaced it all. But anyway, Ive heard really good things about Crutial. Anyone have some brand advice?
     
  6. lazymuoio macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    cruical is defently the source for RAM the hard drive updrages you should rpbably do from apple i dont know if they really over charge for that but for RAM they do and you should go to www.crucial.com and run the configurator
     
  7. Daveman Deluxe macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #7
    If you buy from Crucial, download a different browser and use that to shop online. Crucial charges you less if you don't have cookies from other online merchants.
     
  8. FuzzyBallz macrumors 6502a

    FuzzyBallz

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Home of Al-Qaida
    #8
    Since you're an educator, I'd suggest going to a university book store in town that sells Apple computers so you can get the G5 PM right there with the education discount. Get a pair of G5 Dual 2.0GHz. It comes default with 512MB of Crucial/Micron brand RAM (2x256MB) and a Maxtor 160GB SATA HD. Get 2 more sticks of 256MB for each G5 from either Crucial.com or Newegg.com, which sells Crucial RAM cheaper than Crucial.com.
     
  9. JRam macrumors member

    JRam

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Location:
    Santa Cruz
    #9
    Although it is nice to go to a university's bookstore and buy the comp there in person I dont think you can get the edu discount unless you a student there. I know at my school they asked me when I bought my iPod and I had to show them my id card. If your thinking about going to some school store its probably worth your time to call to make sure they will let you get the discount without being a student at that school specifically...
     
  10. nerd macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    #10
    Are you serious? That sounds pretty crazy.
     
  11. dav macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    #11
    Does RAM actually PERFORM differently when it is from different vendors?

    Or is it just a "it might not work" situation?
     
  12. Daveman Deluxe macrumors 68000

    Daveman Deluxe

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Location:
    Corvallis, Oregon
    #12
    Dead serious.
    Attached photo: Same RAM in both cases, the top version is in Safari, bottom is in Camino (which I had heretofore not used). I've seen differences as much as $20 for 512 MB of this particular RAM (I think PC2100 SODIMM).
     

    Attached Files:

  13. hcuar macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #13
    That sucks. I wouldn't do buisness with them... I wonder if they give a better deal to Windows users. ;-) Crooks. At least when i bought my ram at the Apple store today, they overchaged me the same amount as anyone else. (Please note, I intended the last comment as a joke)
     
  14. Timelessblur macrumors 65816

    Timelessblur

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    #14
    For ram make sure it from a quilty vendor. Also it might be help to find out what the CL is on the G5 ram (now if some knew that number off hand it would be great).

    DDR400 (PC3200) has diffence in them them selves. Try to find a ram that has a CL of 2.0 because that among the faster ram you are going to get and since ti timing are the lowest you can get then it can easily ajust it self to the ramn that comes with it. it going to cost a little more but there no point to put slower ram with a processor as powerful as the PowerG5. the good stuff is the best way to go. Heck you could just take out the 256 that comes with ti and just install all the ram from the same manfactor so you know that there will not be a problem. :)
     
  15. numark macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #15
    My understanding of the issue was that it wasn't necessarily whether you had cookies from other merchants (which Crucial's website can't even detect; a website can't read cookies from other sites at all). The problem is that the first time you visit Crucial's site, you get randomly assigned a cookie value. Based on this cookie value, you get random prices; some people get higher prices, some get lower prices.
     
  16. numark macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #16
    Actually, I've heard reports that the G5 has many more problems with RAM that's timed at anything other than CL3. While some people have had CL2.5 RAM work OK, I know that the best results have come from CL3 RAM in the end.
     
  17. Timelessblur macrumors 65816

    Timelessblur

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    #17
    some needs to find out. And why the hell is Apple using CL3 ram for a chip as fast as the G5. It slows down the computer. The reason I say use CL2 ram is it can always run slower at CL3. The only excuss I can think of is if it ECC ram but then apple would require you to have ECC ram.

    Well the ram apple sells is even more of a rip off that I already though. You can get much better ram for a cheaper price. Well it is a pre built computer......
     

Share This Page