What to do when my iMac 24" arrives?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by digarcia, Dec 9, 2006.

1. digarcia macrumors newbie

So i am new to the Mac, well i have been away for about 12 years. Big difference in HW from back in the day.

So i ordered:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    2.16GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
    NVIDIA GEFORCE 7600 GT w/256
    500GB Serial ATA Drive
    SuperDrive 8X (DVDR-DL/CD-RW)
    Aperture
    WL kybd, Mse & Mac OS X
    Country Kit
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1. Do i need to update sw, version, patches. YES YES YES YES, i know its not a windows machine, but that was my world last 12 years. I'll break the habit soon enough.

2. The keyboard. Is there an ergonomic version?

3. I'll take any advice at this point.

2. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

Yes, you should do upates. Luckily, OS X makes it very easy. You also don't have to worry about it messing your machine up (except in some firemware updates). Ergonomic keyboard? Not made by Apple.

3. Neonguy macrumors 6502

Congratulation on your first Mac order. The iMac 24 is a great Machine.

1.) After you received your iMac you need to do Firmware update and SMT update. It's very easy on a Mac, just go to the Apple Menu and choose About this mac, and click on Software Update. Follow all the instruction and you are all set to go.

2.) As far as Apple Keyboard, there is only a wire one which is the Pro Keyboard or the bluetooth one which is run wirelessly but that one you will have to buy seperately if you decided to go wireless.

3.) I would say the first thing to do is make sure you upgrade all the importent upgrade like firmware and smt. Also since you use Windows before, you can partition your hard drive into 2 hard drive to install Windows using Apple Bootcamp so you can now use Mac OS X or Windows.

Have fun with your new toys!

4. skunk macrumors G4

skunk