What to do with a an old imac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by steamboat26, Jul 8, 2006.

  1. steamboat26 macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #1
    I have an old iMac G3 (specs in sig), that isn't worth anything, but i would like to use it to do something. Any ideas?
     
  2. bradc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Location:
    Canader eh
  3. steamboat26 thread starter macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
  4. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    Would you be willing to get rid of it? For a reasonable price of course.
     
  5. craigatkinson macrumors regular

    craigatkinson

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
  6. craigatkinson macrumors regular

    craigatkinson

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #7
    Do you have kids? Do you plan on having kids in the near future? It would be a great computer to keep around for little kids that you don't trust with new and expensive equipment.
     
  7. steamboat26 thread starter macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #8
    i like your first idea craigatkinson :D
    I would think about selling it, but $50 or whatever isn't very enticing.
    and i don't have kids, at least i should hope not, cause i only 16
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    You can get more then $50 for that machine. Still, it makes for a nice guest computer if you add a little more RAM.
     
  9. craigatkinson macrumors regular

    craigatkinson

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #10
    Yeah, by the time you have kids your computer will probably be completely obsolete. The throwing off bridge thing was an inside joke me and my friend have. We always talk about going and throwing things off bridges when we don't have anything to do. We haven't ever followed through on those plans though.
     
  10. steamboat26 thread starter macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #11
    My dad has some really ancient PCs, perhaps those would be good candidates for being thrown off a bridge :D
     
  11. steamboat26 thread starter macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #12
    Eidorian, how much do you think i could get for my imac, assuming i upgraded the RAM?
    I tried posting on craigslist, and some guy offered me a couple of gamecube games, which i thought was a COMPLETE RIPOFF.
     
  12. craigatkinson macrumors regular

    craigatkinson

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    #13
    All PC's are good candidates for throwing off bridges. :D

     
  13. coffey7 macrumors 6502a

    coffey7

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    #14
    Paper weight.I use my game cube as a paper weight.
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    I'd say $120-170 at most. I get $299 for a 700 MHz eMac G4, 40 GB, 384 MB RAM, and 10.3.9 around here.

    You'd just need some PC100 SDRAM DIMM sticks. Check around on eBay for some. The G3's weren't that picky. There's no point in wasting money on new RAM for it.
     
  15. steamboat26 thread starter macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #16
    Really? I heard that all macs were very picky about RAM. i have been told that i must get PC100 or PC133 169 DIMM low density RAM, and then there is the possibility that that might not work.
     
  16. steamboat26 thread starter macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #17
    If you are using your gamecube as a paperweight, hows about i send you a paperweight in the mail, and you can send me your gamecube :D
     
  17. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #18
    I've only found that the G5's appear to be picky with RAM. I believe it has something to do with the synchronization of the FSB and the memory. (It makes it impossible to overclock the buggers too.)

    I've had iMac G3/4 and Power Mac G3/4 with odd memory configurations with not fuss at all.
     
  18. steamboat26 thread starter macrumors 65816

    steamboat26

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Arlington VA
    #19
    What do you mean "odd memory configurations?" Like mixing PC100 and PC133 RAM? (which i can apparently do in my imac G3, i think).
     
  19. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #20
    PC100/133 mixes and different brands of memory with slightly different specifications.
     
  20. X5-452 macrumors 6502

    X5-452

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #21
    Leave it plugged in somewhere unobtrusive, quietly folding@home?
     
  21. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #22
    Hmm, not a bad idea! Even an older machine like that could get a lot of Folding done 24/7, especially if totally dedicated to Folding.
     
  22. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #23
    Honestly i have a sideline in helping my girlfriends switch to Mac on old G3 iMacs. I have helped 7 girls and one guy switch with them. Of course, the guy got the fastest machine -- an iMac 600mhz G3. If anyone has an iMac 700mhz G3 I want to buy it, btw!

    I put an 80gig hd with 385 ram in the 233mhz on Panther -- runs GREAT.
    I put another 80gig hd and 384ram in a 266mhz (but my friend is too scared to get off of OS9! that's another story)
    Put a 10 gig hd in another 266 with 384ram on Panther GREAT
    Put 512ram with another 80gig hd in a 400mhz on Panther GREAT again
    Put 512ram with an original 10gig in another 400mhz on Panther EXCEPTIONAL
    Put 768ram with original 20gighd on an iMac 500 on Tiger with ilife 06 runs AWESOME
    And put a new 120gig, 7200rpm hd in an iMac 500 with 1 gig of ram on Tiger iLife 06 COMPLETELY AWESOME
    And kept the 40gig hd and put 768ram in the iMac 600mhz on Panther running great great great -- he's burning CDs on the internal CDRW drive and having a blast with his iPod connected...

    Digg has an article today on the durability of these machines. I agree. Cheap and much more of a bang for your buck than the G3 laptops that may be bashed up. These G3 iMacs were deskqueens for the most part. If I had a bigger space, I'd keep one for myself.

    P.S. TO OP: I have a 128 ram chip taken out of the iMac 500 -- it's yours for 7 bucks shipped. You might as well see what I know to be true -- these machines will fly on OSX.
     
  23. GuyOnTheCouch17 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    #24
    im still waiting to run into a g3 imac like this so i can turn it into a fish tank, i remember seeing that years ago and wanted to do it so bad
     
  24. gallagb macrumors 6502

    gallagb

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    IN
    #25
    i'd use it as a music computer

    plug an external drive into it
    load up itunes
    do the ram
    add speakers
    and then just enjoy music
     

Share This Page