What to do with early 2005 PowerMac G5?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Doward, May 14, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    #1
    Dual 2.5Ghz model. Coolant system developed a leak, system was given to me. Case and all is in fine condition.

    I've already pulled the LCS, verified the leak. Not bad, just bridged a couple resistors, so I'm repairing it. New viton seals on the way!

    Once I finish the repair, I'm just not certain what to do with the system. Sell it? Keep it? Mod it?

    Ideas?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
  3. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #3
    That's a horrible idea. It only has two drive bays, and is a huge power consumer and heat producer.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Use it as a video editor/security system


    I have a dual 2.0ghz driving my camera system and keeping the video files at my place
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Location:
    'Murrica
    #5
    Theoretically he could throw in 2 3tbs, and have quite a bit of space, I say media server, Hook it up to a TV. Hell, if you're in to editing use it as a render box in addition to your normal PC.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #6
    Put it in the guest room, File server, Folding box, web server.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #7
    PowerPCs cannot fold afaik. The client has been deprecated.

    And I tried boinc on mine. The noise and heat was unacceptable.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    #8
    How would I use it as a render farm? I'm running FCPX / Compressor 4 - AFAIK neither runs on PPC.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    #9
    How about a web server?
     
  10. macrumors regular

    AlbertEinstein

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
  11. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #11
    I just don't get the whole "light up a professional mac" thing. given my pc glows 8 different colours at night. but I just sorta feel as thou a mac is meant to be a mac
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Starfighter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
  13. macrumors 6502a

    seveej

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #13
    In itself, that is not a bad machine by any means, but it is dated, and considering its power consumption, any 24/7 use is basically out.

    Any possibility you could use it for the uses a 2005 G5 was originally intended for (DTP, Audio, Video etc.)

    RGDS,
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    #14
    I would like to. If i keep it, I'll certainly put Leopard on it.

    What was the latest FCP Studio compatible with the PPC?
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #15
    Google is your friend on any questions like this but I do belive that final cut express 4 still runs on that g5
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #16
    2 was the last official one, 3 could be hacked on with Pacifist. And it isn't really hacking.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    #17
    Thanks, I'll certainly look into it.

    Viton seals ended up being out of stock (was wondering why I hadn't gotten shipment notice yet) so switched them to silicone o-rings.

    Also have Swiftech coolant on the way from FrozenCPU.com. I'm going to clean the procs off tomorrow, get that precipitate off everything and twiddle my thumbs while I wait on parts to arrive.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #18
    google "PowerMac G5 clustering video" and "compressor qmaster". Maybe searching for Xgrid is interesting for you, too.

    Though here https://discussions.apple.com/thread/1435061?start=0&tstart=0 someone says Final Cut doesn't support ditributed rendering, you can maybe get a copy of Logic Studio 8 or 9. - and here someone says it's possible with Final Cut http://www.digitalproducer.com/arti...ter-in-Final-Cut-Studios-Compressor-3x-775135

    Ah, see this http://www.dellanave.com/blog/2010/...qmaster-and-compressor-for-cluster-rendering/
    there was a more elaborate one somewhere, but I do not find it, yet... ah, this http://visionstudios.ca/RenderFarm/RenderFarmleft.html
     

Share This Page