What to do with iMac G3 case?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by redAPPLE, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. redAPPLE macrumors 68030

    redAPPLE

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Location:
    2 Much Infinite Loops
    #1
    hi. 3 iMac G3 of mine have gone to Apple heaven. or maybe Apple limbo.

    i don't have a hardware test disc (or i can't find it no more).

    they install os x, but then they just freeze upon booting.

    i feel really sad right now. if i can't get them to run, i might as well do something with the cases. any ideas? links?
     
  2. R.Youden macrumors 68020

    R.Youden

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    #2
    When I get some spare cash together I am going to pop a 15" LCD display in mine along with gutting a mac mini. That would make a really nice little machine.

    The hardest part is getting a 15" LCD monitor in there as the LCDs are flat whilst the CRTs have a big curve. There is a link somewhere on the net but I can't find it at the moment.
     
  3. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #3
    You loaded OS9 first and did the firmware upgrade, and then loaded OSX?
     
  4. redAPPLE thread starter macrumors 68030

    redAPPLE

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Location:
    2 Much Infinite Loops
  5. ®îçhå®? macrumors 68000

    ®îçhå®?

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
  6. Electro Funk macrumors 65816

    Electro Funk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    The Opium Garden
    #6
    beat me to it... my vote goes for a macquarium!
     
  7. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #7
    It needa firmware update from Apple's wbesite to run Tiger.

    Get a little App called Mactracker and look up your model there. It has links to the Apple site and info on all your Macs.

    I think if you reinstall OS9, seek all the OS9 updates, and then do the firmware update 4.1.9, you should be right to install Tiger if the machine is 400MHz+, else only Panther.
     
  8. ®îçhå®? macrumors 68000

    ®îçhå®?

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #9
    Odd. Tiger worked fine on my iMac 350MHz
     
  9. redAPPLE thread starter macrumors 68030

    redAPPLE

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Location:
    2 Much Infinite Loops
    #10
  10. aswitcher macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #12
    It must have the firmware upgrade
     
  11. Mattydj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #13
    Have various plants growing through every available vent and drive.

    Well i keep seeing those "Green Your Computer" Ads. What better way? :D
     

Share This Page