What will be in 2007 Powermacs?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by timmillwood, Apr 9, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #1
    I am looking to upgrade my powermac in Q1 2007, what technology do you think we will have?

    Processor? 2x quad core 3.0Ghz 64-bit processor
    Hard Drive? 2x 1 Terabyte fibre channel drives
    Ram? 8 Slots 4GB per slot totaling 32Gb
    Optical? Blue-Ray
    Graphics? Quad SLI 1GB cards totaling 4GB graphics memory

    40" displays 3360x2160 resolution

    What do you think?
    anything else?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    i think that's a bit over the top.

    I don't think intel will have quad core's by then.

    hdd-maybe

    RAM- i believe 64 bit only supports 16 GB. need to check though.

    Optical-agree

    graphics-over the top but possible.


    if anything, that will by a high end machine.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #3
    iirc it's actually somewhere around 16TB
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #4
    16TB is correct, although i doubt we will be seeing that anytime soon:D
     
  5. macrumors member

    Paragon

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    #5
    I'm buying a Mac Pro/Powermac next easter (saving up bigtime at the moment so I can get a screamer) and I'm loving the specs I'm seeing so far :rolleyes:
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    #6

    I wonder if we ever will see it. Seems like with 64 it processors memory limits will not be hit in my life time. Even on 32bit machines 3-4 gigs of ram seems like more than enough for the next 5 years. I know we can all think of exceptions but unless hard drives get allot faster I just don't see the benefit.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    You may be right, but everytime I hear this I think back to a quote made in my lifetime... "640k should be enough for anybody"

    (granted, it was made by someone who I consider to be very shortsighted...)
     
  8. macrumors 603

    aswitcher

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra OZ
    #8
    In 2007

    Megapixel iSights
    GPS in laptops
    Quadcore processors
    PowerMac with reconfigured design to accomodate more ram - would be nice
    802.11n wireless
    UWB?
    HDMI
    OLED external displays on computers
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    #9
    Don't forget the G6 will be out....
     
  10. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    #10
    What could make it happen is wanting to do something with the computer that could use it. Maybe something in AI could cause us to want/need it.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    javabear90

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #11
    Actually I think it is about 16 exabytes.:rolleyes: :cool:
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #12
    If were talking theoretical, ye... anything is possible, but realistically spoken I think the stock entry level systems will have:


    2x 3Ghz Intel cpus (meron most likely)
    1 gig of memory, upgradeable to 8gigs (possible 16 if its a more server orientated chipset design)
    2x 16lane PCIe, 2x4lane PCIe
    Single ATI x1900, 512megs of ram, option for second graphics card, not sure if they will be able to work together (aka NVidia SLI), depends on what OS 10.5 allows.

    1x 500gig SATA HDD, 3 SATA 300 ports available (possible 1 eSATA, hardware raid possibly)
    802.11n
    2x gigabit Ethernet
    Bluetooth 2.0
    Possible blue-ray

    I don’t see Apple trying something really revolutionary, they will want to get the Intel transition done before they go completely new case designs or anything.
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #13
    No, no, no! Merom is a mobile chip. You don't want that in a Power Mac. The Power Mac/ Mac Pro should feature Conroe a desktop chip.

    Conroe Core Duo
    E8?00 (Due late '06/early '07) - 3.33 GHz (4 MB L2, 1333 MHz FSB, Extreme Edition)
    E6800 - 2.93 GHz (4 MB L2, 1066 MHz FSB)
    E6700 - 2.67 GHz (4 MB L2, 1066 MHz FSB)
    E6600 - 2.40 GHz (4 MB L2, 1066 MHz FSB)
    E6400 - 2.13 GHz (2 MB L2, 1066 MHz FSB)
    E6300 - 1.86 GHz (2 MB L2, 1066 MHz FSB)
    E4200 - 1.66 GHz (2 MB L2, 800 MHz FSB)
     
  14. macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
  15. macrumors 65816

    MacTruck

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Location:
    One Endless Loop
    #15
    Here is the problem.

    YOu can't go quad unless you use a xeon chip. Unless intel releases a special Pentium D for apple. So they will have to use the same chip that is in the x serve for the desktop. Problem there.

    So we might just see dual core pentium Ds and thats it.
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #16
    Yes :)

    According to Intel "Conroe offers 40% more performance at 40% less power than the Pentium D 950.". So we'll see Core Duo Conroe's hopefully, instead of Pentium Ds. Conroe will also be priced at the same points as the Pentium D.

    Intel's Quad (Kentsfield) should be released early '07, but it's nothing to worry about really as not all MP aware apps can fully use four cores.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Lollypop

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #17
    Sorry... my bad, I agree, definitely Conroe, NOT Merom.

    Sorta of topic, but any idea if the Mac OS currently supports something like NVidia's SLI or ATI's Crossfire? It sort of came to me yesterday while driving back home, everyone has been moaning about the weak performance of openGL, stuff like SLI is becoming very popular as well, what’s the chance that Apple will do a serious rewrite of OpenGL for 10.5 to increase overall speed, entice the gamers and give so kick ass performance for their pro apps via SLI or Crossfire?

    If that happens, I definitely see dual graphics cards being a popular BTO option in the PowerMacs or Mac Pro’s, or whatever they will be called.
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Location:
    Port townsend Wa
    #18
    I'm interested in why any one needs more then 16 gigs of ram in the first place... I mean does any one on her even have 8 gigs? 12? Unless your doing insane graphics rendering it seems like 5 is were the 98% of users would max out. I think 3-4 is were my idea zone would be. Cause I'm weird and like to Surf the net and chat while I'm doing Adobe work, and working with RAW smoothly is a bitch with no ram.
     
  19. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    #19
    Which Application makes use of SLI? Yes there are some games (with the correct patches) which make full use of the technology, wht Pro apps will use this? (released and unreleased)?

    I think the new mactowers are going to ship with a gfx card with 128mb (no sli)
     

Share This Page