what will I need for new G5?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by photonyd, Jun 28, 2005.

  1. photonyd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    #1
    I'm currently running dual monitors, both CRTs, on separate cards in my G4 tower. I just ordered a new G5, I think the new 256 MB video card will run both my monitors, will I need 1 or two adapters? Also, bought a second internal drive. Can it piggyback with the OEM drive's cable, or will I need another SATA cable for it?

    Thanks in advance,

    Tony
     
  2. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #2
    Your new G5 with come with both DVI and ADC. They supply you with a DVI->VGA adapter, you will need to buy a ADC->VGA to use both your CRT displays. I think they are around $30.
     
  3. photonyd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    #3
    Thanks, WW. How about the second drive, will I need a separate cable for that or is it already set up for a master/slave setup?
     
  4. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #4
    I don't know for sure, but I'd be shocked it the cable wasn't ready for installing a second HD. Any desktop Mac I've ever had always had all the cable necessary for any internal component upgrades.

    Edit: link, yep, it comes with all the cable you need.
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    The drives are SATA; there is no "Master Slave" relationship - each drive has a single SATA cable to the motherboard. The Mac comes with the cables and the mounting hardware (little hemispherical rubbery screws that screw into the drive mounting screwholes. They are stored screwed into the chassis of the machine near the hard drive bay)

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     

Share This Page