What would happen if you dragged out a safari window for 5 minutes non stop?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by corywoolf, Dec 3, 2005.

  1. corywoolf macrumors 65816

    corywoolf

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    #1
    Well the title says it all. I was bored and wondered if there was a limit to the length of a window? It appears there isn't, but I wasn't going to spend any more time dragging the window out.

    Here are the beautiful screenshots I took.

    ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Benjamin macrumors 6502a

    Benjamin

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  3. Mac_Freak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #3
    I see you are downloading Macromedia Flash Pro 8 and Dreamweaver from Bittorrent :D How naughty ;)
     
  4. cait-sith macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Location:
    canada
    #4
    the width and height of windows are stored as integers.. either 32-bit or 64-bit ones.. (i'm not sure which, i'd assume 32-bit..) so the maximum would be either 2^32 or 2^64 pixels -- lots longer than you could stretch ;)

    remember, nothing is infinite in computers!

    `mike
     
  5. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    I'm not absolutely sure that's true. In Cocoa [window frame].size.width is a float. What the Window Server uses, I'm not sure but Apple is very fond of floats and not so fond of ints!

    See this post from one of the AppKit developers on Apples love of floats!
     
  6. virus1 macrumors 65816

    virus1

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Location:
    LOST
    #6
    haha.. its fun watching an ibook try to minimize that..
     
  7. corywoolf thread starter macrumors 65816

    corywoolf

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    #7

    It's a 15" imac g4 rev a.
     
  8. corywoolf thread starter macrumors 65816

    corywoolf

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    #8

    Haha, actually I got dreamweaver and flash from the macromedia website (much faster) and the file you saw on my desktop was supposed to include a flash tutorial. I couldn't find any video tutorials that didn't include dreamweaver and flash with it so... I don't support piracy in general, just do it sometimes for educational purposes, who is going to shell out hundreds of dollars for a program they don't even know yet? Not me. I normally like to become decent with the app. before purchasing it. The trial versions are just obnoxiously annoying with all the pop ups about registering and how much time you have left. Why not just have a free version available for strictly educational purposes and have some sort of a watermark, like how the maya app. does it?
     
  9. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #9
    Actually, there is a way to cinfirm the maximum possible size of a window in OS X. Applescript has commands in the finder that change the window's size according to x and y parameters. Try to change width and height using applescript and see what happens...
     
  10. cait-sith macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Location:
    canada
    #10
    That's interesting. What are the units of width and height then for Cocoa applications?

    I do a lot of microcontroller stuff, usually there is no FPU -- that means fixed point arithmetic. Floats are a luxury!
     
  11. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #11
    For you that's true but on the desktop (and laptop obviously) floating point performance gets a lot more attention that integer so it can be much faster to use floats these days.

    Altivec (and SSE) are basically for floats only so you can do multiple float operations faster that you can do a single integer one :)
     

Share This Page