What would mac 30 macs unable to power on at the same time?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sim667, Apr 23, 2012.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #1
    Came into work this morning, and none of the imacs would power on.

    Tested the electricity trunking, all fine. It turned out they all needed the power cutting for 10 seconds, then they'd power on fine after that.

    Would a power spike cause that?
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #2
    knowing nothing about it i would think a spike would cause some "safety switch" to trigger, then requiring power off
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    They were all asleep and you didn't give them enough time to 'wake'?

    Your wiring is faulty and not enough power was being received to power the machines after they had shut down due to perhaps a power cut, when you reset the power it supplied the correct load. Check your wiring for faults?

    Thats my best guesses
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #4
    They definately weren't asleep..... I've been looking after macs for a long long time.

    Wiring is fine, we've had an electirican out to check it all...

    Im guessing there was a power spike over the weekend.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    #5
    Reset the power management.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    iMacC2D

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #6
    Sounds like a power fluctuation of some sort caused the SMC (System Management Controller) to stop functioning correctly. Disconnecting the power for about 10-15 seconds and reapplying power is how you reset the SMC on an iMac.
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #7
    It's too much load powering all on at once.

    When we do computer rooms you need to install a breaker to take a large start up current.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #8
    That might be it, all our computers are set to boot up at 8.30am

    We've never had the problem before...... Ill have to keep an eye on it.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Location:
    a small village near London
    #9
    Could be playing up now due to excessive wear on the breaker.

    As a qualified electrician that's where I'd be looking first, had it before at schools

    Could you stagger their turn on times
     
  10. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #10
    Yep, we had this a while back here too....Depending on your power settings for the machines, I'd say that's exactly what happened...A spike or a brown out. I'm guessing you are surge protected so no damage will have been done, but re-setting SMC on them would be a good idea.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #11
    I'd reset the SMC. To make things easier, can the OP stagger the time the Macs come on? This way, the initial inrush of everything starting (inrush current to spin up HDDs and fans) isn't hitting the circuit all at once.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #12
    Im not the actual tech, but ill suggest it to them
     

Share This Page