what yer connection speed

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by mac15, Mar 2, 2002.

  1. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #1
    just wondering what yer connection speed
    heres mine
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mac15 thread starter macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
  3. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #3
    I'm in Australia too, and I got 746.6. But all my stuff is going through a network, so I guess that is slowing it down a bit.

    mac15, are you with Optus or Telstra? Cuz if you're with Telstra I'll laugh at you... :)
     
  4. desmosedici macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #4
    i'm running a trial for optus. VDSL getting 6892.2
    it's smokin'.
     
  5. cleo macrumors 65816

    cleo

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa Bay Area, FL, USA
    #5
    866.6
    Roadrunner Tampa Bay
    On wireless home network
     
  6. resm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    My connection speed

    I made the test 3 times

    each one was different....so how accurate is this test ?

    It started at 700+ and the last one 1.1 MB :)
     
  7. ZeroKoolNess1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2002
    #7
    3.2 megabits per second
    390.3 kilobytes per second
    2.6 seconds-The time it would take you to download a 1 megabyte file at this speed.

    Your raw speed was 3197522.58 bits per second.

    Those are my speeds
     
  8. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #8
    my results

    1.1 Megabits per second

    138.4 kilobytes per second (I've gotten as high as 160 on other transfers)

    1 MB file download in 7.4 seconds

    I running through a network server as well...
     

    Attached Files:

  9. macaddict123k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Location:
    Palm Harbor, Florida
    #9
    1st time:2.2mg/sec: 2nd time:2.4mg/sec: 3rd time:2.9bg/sec
    1st time:286.2kb/sec: 2nd time:297.3kb/sec: 3rd time:349.5kb/sec
    1st time:3.8sec: 2nd time:3.4sec: 3rd time:2.9 sec
    road runner tampabay
    network is slow now though
     
  10. liven2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    Bonney Lake, WA
    #10
    here are mine

    Your raw speed was 1663140.94 bits per second.

    Communications: 1.7 megabits per second

    Storage: 203 kilobytes per second

    1MB download: 5 seconds

    The time it would take you to download a 1 megabyte file at this speed.
     
  11. kansaigaijin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Location:
    the great ether
    #11
    speed tests

    355kbps down
    550kbps up!
    we are too far from the NTT office to get the 8mbps service YahooBB claimes to provide
     
  12. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #12
    Considering how I have seen much faster downloads then that site provided, I am going to say that for the Northeast US it isn't very accurate. I have downloaded at up to 1.5Mb/second, but the site has to be able to push that much data, and not be bogged down with tons of traffic.

    I might try it again later, but doubt it. The only time I have seen anything faster has been at work where we have 3 T1 lines to the outside. I downloaded a file one day where pretty much everyone else was gone for the day and it went into negative numbers (after passing 2.5MB/second). It went too fast for the browser to understand (hence the negative number).
     
  13. kansaigaijin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Location:
    the great ether
    #13
    new test

    closed a bunch of windows and quit some apps,
    tested at 2Wire
    635 kbps
     
  14. Taft macrumors 65816

    Taft

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
  15. blackpeter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
  16. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #16
    Re: new test

    on 2wire I got 1224.5 (average between 1100 & 1300 speeds)
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Ifeelbloated macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    some God forsaken place
    #17
    :( My bandwidth is pathetic (breaking down in tears) wahhhhh.....
     
  18. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #18
    I'm on RoadRunner In San Diego:

    Keep in mind I'm running Limewire in the background :D
     

    Attached Files:

  19. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #19
    2wire ranged from around 1300 k/sec to my peak reading here:

    Still running Limewire...
     

    Attached Files:

  20. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #20
    maybe it's because u are bloated? ;)

    just kidding.....he he he...
     
  21. me hate windows macrumors 6502

    me hate windows

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    #21
    i got lots of speed mine is

    1.7 mbits/second communications

    212.1 storage

    4.8 seconds file transfer

    When I did the test, my brother was also playing starcraft over the internet(high bandwidth usage if you didn't know)
     
  22. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #22
    I'm actually calling my ISP techies to find out why the test numbers I got were so damned low. Considering how so many other people are getting good numbers there has to be something up with my connection here.
     
  23. King Cobra macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2002
    #23
    I am stuck with 28.8Kb dial-up, sometimes slower.
     
  24. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #24
    Re: Man, I feel like I've been living in the 90's for too long now!

    I feel for you King.... I will never go back to dial up internet... even if it means not taking an apartment because high speed isn't available.

    Techie for ever :D
     
  25. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #25
    can't go back to dial-up

    I don't care for tv much anyway.....but I'd sacrifice having cable & phone for dsl or cable connection for the internet....

    I couldn't possibly even think of it....
     

Share This Page