What you don't tell your Windows ® friends...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by iGary, Sep 27, 2005.

  1. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #1
    OK.

    Time to spill the beans.

    Do you have something about your current machine/machines that you don't tell your Windows friends (especially the ones that know what a nutcase™ you are about Macs) that drives you nuts.

    Be honest.

    Safari totally locks up my entire system sometimes taking even OS X down with it.

    I didn't tell anyone about the hair in my ACD.

    Sometimes the computer will load my mouse, and sometimes it won't.

    Ahh...better. :D
     
  2. Badradio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester
    #2
    <shame>My iMac 20" has a stuck pixel.</shame>
     
  3. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    I get really bored not being able to de-fragment my drive manually, scan for viruses or restart so I end up in forums like this. :eek:

    I don't tell them about the lack of gaming titles available but it doesn't matter because they're not geeks and I don't really care much for games. :D
     
  4. gwuMACaddict macrumors 68040

    gwuMACaddict

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    washington dc
    #4
    safari becomes unbearably slow on my 20inch iMac G5 2.0...
     
  5. andy89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Folkestone, England
    #5
    Firewire networking never work properly :(
    No good playstation emus :(
     
  6. chucknorris macrumors 6502a

    chucknorris

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Moscow, ID (No Kremlin here!)
    #6
    Hmmm....

    Well, I guess the whole OS X needing several gigs free to accomodate its huge virtual memory really gets on my nerves (regardless of the functional purpose).

    I would also be embarrassed to tell anybody who knew what I was talking about how pitiful the FSB on my iBook is.
     
  7. chucknorris macrumors 6502a

    chucknorris

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Location:
    Moscow, ID (No Kremlin here!)
    #7
    Firewire networking? You mean target disk mode?
     
  8. andy89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Folkestone, England
    #8
    No, i mean IP over Firewire
     
  9. stoid macrumors 601

    stoid

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2002
    Location:
    So long, and thanks for all the fish!
    #9
    Perhaps, but there is also IP over FireWire. I've gotten it to work on occasion. It's not nearly as fast as straight FireWire Target Disk Mode (probably from the overhead of the IP protocol) but it's much nicer because you can have both machines booted into OS X and fully functional.
     
  10. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #10
    Connecting to windows computers over the network is a bit of a problem. I preferred the Windows method where each computer was just a folder with the shared folders and printers etc inside them rather than having to mount specific folders on your desktop and not being able to see where the printers are.
     
  11. Badradio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester
    #11
    Strangely - for a relative newbie to Macs - I've never had a problem, and it's a fantastic way to swap video files. Didn't take long to move 9gigs of music either.

    Another thing I don't share is that I don't like Mac networking much. When I mount my iMac on the desktop of my iBook to move files, I nearly always get confused as to which Finder window is which and have to start again.
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    Hmm... Safari doesn't lock up for me and Firewire networking is as fast as a hound. :confused:

    I agree that the way OSX handles file-sharing leaves a little to be desired though.


    Off topic: iGary, you come up with some of the coolest thread topics. :)
     
  13. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #13
    Safari is starting to get very much on my titties :eek: I moved back to Safari from Firefox with Tigers introduction, but I may be switching back soon :rolleeys:
     
  14. kuyu macrumors 6502a

    kuyu

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Location:
    Louisville
    #14
    Any mac older than 3 years doesn't get along with new software very well. I think the embedded clock knows exactly when your warranty ends, so that stuff only stops once you can't get it fixed. :(
     
  15. MattG macrumors 68040

    MattG

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fletcher, NC
    #15
    I have two Lacie USB drives, 120GB. Usually when I reboot my computer, despite the two drives being powered up and plugged in, the computer doesn't mount them when it comes back up. I've got to power off the drives and power them back on to make them appear. This is particularly annoying when I have to restart the computer remotely. I can't access anything on the two drives until I'm up at the other building and can physically turn them off and on again.
     
  16. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #16
    Sometimes my G5 loads the network, sometimes it doesn't. :rolleyes:
     
  17. Verto macrumors 6502a

    Verto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    #17
    I have a dead pixel.

    My Bluetooth keyboard/mouse suck more battery life in a week than my Logitech does in two months.
     
  18. revisionA macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #18
    I shouldnt really say this one.

    I am using my ACD 23 inch with my Sony Vaio and the old school adc connector Apple 15 inch lcd with my g5.

    For shame.
     
  19. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #19
    Come on everyone, let it out.

    You'll feel better. :D
     
  20. MattG macrumors 68040

    MattG

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fletcher, NC
    #20
    Hmm...this actually works really well for me. I've got my iMac and my Powermac plugged into each other via FireWire. I've got it so they automatically mount each other (that just sounds dirty) upon booting up. I share files, iTunes, etc. with no problems at all.
     
  21. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #21

    Oh.. okay

    I don't tell them how perfectly great my Macs work, 'cause I would feel sorry for them.
     
  22. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #22
    I can't get my internet connection to share over Bluetooth.

    My PowerBook has a light area of the screen ('bout the size of your pinky nail)

    I secretly love--
    er...
     
  23. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #23
    I am a Mechanical Engineering student and it kills me when I say that they don't have SolidWorks for the Mac. That is our bread and butter and all the people in my classes think I am crazy for using Mac because of that. It's the only place I try not to talk about me being a Mac person.
     
  24. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    safari is fast as hell on my 600Mhz G3 ibook, firefox is considerably slower.
     
  25. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #25
    A friend of mine has an engineering degree from Virginia Tech. He was the ONLY person in his field of study with a Mac. He had to run some emulator thingy ma job to use the software.
     

Share This Page