whats max RAM for this Mac?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by gandalf55, Feb 12, 2002.

  1. gandalf55 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston
    #1
    PowerMac G4 (AGP) 450Mhz
    4 slots (pc100)

    how much can i put into each slot? 256MB the max or will a 512 slide into each slot?
     
  2. britboy macrumors 68030

    britboy

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    #2
    are you sure it has 4 ram slots? I thought 450 AGP only had 3 slots, unless i'm mistaken ;)

    That being the case, the max ram is 1.5 GB
     
  3. gandalf55 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston
    #3
    my sys profiler for built-in memory:

    Location Size Memory type
    ------------- -------- ----------------
    DIMM0/J21 128MB PC100-322S
    DIMM1/J22 128MB PC100-322S
    DIMM2/J23 128MB PC100-222S
    DIMM3/J24 256MB PC100-322S

    looks like 4 slots to me.
     
  4. mischief macrumors 68030

    mischief

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Ca
    #4
    Although it has 4 slots......

    The peak memory (officially anyway) is 1.5Gb by way of 3 512's. However there may be the possibility of 2.0Gb under 10.n.n. I'm not sure if there's a real hardware limitation to the Mobo that keeps it at 1.5Gb. The reason it has 4 but maxes out with 3 is that 512's were not commonly available when the mobo was designed for the Blue and White, from which the G4 mobo was patterned. Oh, and OS 9 had a limit of 1.5Gb.
     
  5. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #5
    I do know for sure that my G4 400 PCI won't recognize over a 256MB chip, so the max I can have is 1GB, even though I technically have 1.5 in there. :(
     
  6. gandalf55 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston
    #6
    ok - ill just load up with 256MB from crucial.com then.

    danka!
     
  7. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #7
    As in my profile, I have a G4 500MHz (AGP graphics card) with 1.5GB of RAM (two 512's and two 256 chips filling all four slots).

    With this combination, I have not had any issues. Also, all the memory IS 222 spec.
     
  8. gandalf55 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2001
    Location:
    boston

Share This Page