whats the best way to recover files on a crashed HD

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mac17, Jan 2, 2007.

1. mac17 macrumors regular

Im a graphic artist and the other day my macs harddrive crashed and i lost all my work! whats the best way (if there is any) to retrieve it? It would be really helpfull because now im going crazy and people are waiting for their jobs.

2. cr2sh macrumors 68030

cr2sh

Is it making a knocking noise or how do you know its bad?

Just describe the problem a little more and we might be able to help you.

3. kalisphoenix macrumors 65816

kalisphoenix

If you have the money, you need a data recovery service. A couple thousand $$$.

BACK UP REGULARLY!!!!

Or you can throw it in an external HD enclosure and use the UNIX command <dd> to copy as much of the information as you can to a new hard drive. No idea whether that'll work.

Or put it in the freezer a couple hours and try again.

Or move the platters to another hard drive of the same type and specs.

4. mac17 thread starter macrumors regular

well i was working on it (very light stuff just organizing it a bit) and it just shut down i restarted and there was nothing at all on the computer

5. mac17 thread starter macrumors regular

The freezer? why?

6. BigPrince macrumors 68020

If its not making any noise or anything, try to boot to an external device such as a firewire drive. Then try to access the disk to see if you can access it. If you can get your data off. If you can't try to run disk utility on it with the verify and repair disk, however people have mixed feelings on this. However, if your not going to shell out at least 100$ bucks for software that might or might not work or have a data recovery (costly) then this is better then trying nothing.

7. cr2sh macrumors 68030

cr2sh

Urban legend.. I've never had it work for me.

:p

8. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

IJ Reilly