What's the best way to resize images?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by ghall, Sep 2, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    I need to resize a whole bunch of images so that they're about the same size (about 87 pixels high, width should vary depending on image). What's the best way to do this?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
  3. macrumors 68020

    YS2003

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Location:
    Finally I have arrived.....
    #3
    Since you started the thread, it would be nicer if you would post the solution to the problem you had.

    My guess is you have used image processor.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #4
    Automator would also be an easy option... if you're running Tiger... :)
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    #5

    Mind elabrorate on this please?
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #6
    Hmm... it seems the Automator has been "fixed". I just tried my old action, and if you set it to scale all images to, lets say, 80px it takes the longest side and scales that to 80, so a lying 1280x800 image becomes 80x50 while a standing 800x1280 becomes 50x80. That's no help if you want to make uniform height "thumbnails". And the "create thumbnails" action is just as "dumb".

    What's really stupid, is that when I used it for a task like this back in January, it worked as I then expected. That all scaled images was the same height, regardless of orientation and width, making it very easy to make a "thumbnail" web page... :(

    Unfortunately, the current behaviour is probably the "correct" one, as even the standard Photoshop droplets does it the same way...

    So now I'm actually very interested in hearing how the OP did it... :)
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #7
    Ok... after surfing a bit around I only found one shareware application that solves this problem: PictureTheBatch at $19.95.

    So I tried making a simple Photoshop action/droplet to do the same, but Photoshop wouldn't cooperate, so I switched to ImageReady.

    Making the action/droplet was fairly easy, but I couldn't get the Output settings to work as they should :)o), so the new files get a oldfilename-01.jpg when you make them from a jpg and simply oldfilename.jpg if you make it from another. Does anybody know how to make the action rename the new files...?
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #8
    The dialog box for batching in P-shop will let you rename the files in various ways and send them to a different location. Fireworks is also built well for batching. Either program should do the job simply.
     

Share This Page