what's the better deal for a new programming student?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by jefhatfield, Feb 6, 2003.

1. jefhatfield Retired

jefhatfield

i am looking to get a new portable computer for programming and the current class recommends any computer over 500 mhz/P-III and 256 mb of ram

the three laptops i have been looking at for java, then unix, vb, c++, and dos are the $999 ibook, or the dell 2600 series laptop for $999, or a compaq laptop with similar specs to the dell and also at around $999

i just need to get a cheap laptop to get thru these classes in a period of two years or so to keep my skills current for my pc repair business

for my home and my personal leisure use, macs are the best way to go since i am a pc tech...sounds like that switch commercial;)

2. choppedsui macrumors newbie

I am of course going to suggest the mac, so I thought I would let you know about the student developer program that apple offers. That $999 ibook you want will cost you $850 if you buy it through the student developer program. It does cost $99 to join (for a year membership) but you get great discounts and all major OS updates for that year are free through monthly mailings. It is a really great program if you a developing and are a student. I bought my Ti G4 through the program and saved about $500. The address to the program is http://developer.apple.com/students/ You can also get to the developer store from there to see the great discounts you get. You should check it out and let me know if you have any questions.
    - Peace - Babak

3. oldMac macrumors 6502a

Linux on the PC?

Unless you're planning to put Linux on the PC laptop, then OS X is a no-brainer for satisfying the Unix requirement that you've stated.

VB is the only tough choice here, but let's be serious, the other things you listed are more important to your professional development than VB.

4. moby1 macrumors 6502

VPC + VB