whats the difference?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by puckhead193, Nov 10, 2004.

1. puckhead193 macrumors G3

May 25, 2004
    As the holiday season approaches i was on apple's website looking at software. I was looking at motion and watching the tutorials on it, it looks pretty easy to use and its only $300. So a fig this could be a cool gift. But then I remembered that i'm a student and i can get a discount. The price for "motion academic" is only $200. but it says academic. Then i was like lets see if i get real creedy and look at the "Production Suite Academic" is only $500 and i get motion, FCP and DVD studio pro! Besides it being cheaper is there any limitation/difference between the the nomral production suite and the academic one/motion?

If there is no difference and I get my parents to agree to it, will my pb be able to run these apps? Cause $500/$200 is alot (+ i have an eye on a new digital SLR, for "family pictures" :p ...so
  2. kirk26 macrumors 6502a

Jun 21, 2003
    West Virginia
    Yes, any Mac available on Apple's website will able to run it. :rolleyes:
  3. munkle macrumors 68030

Aug 7, 2004
    On a jet plane
    Have you read the recommended set up to run apps like Motion? Even the minimum requirements are pretty steep :rolleyes:

Answering your questions, there is no difference between the academic versions and 'full' versions of the Production Suite, apart from only being able to use the apps for non-commercial projects I think.

Your PB will be able to run these apps fairly well. Well enough to use the apps but they certainly won't be zippy and you'll have to be patient at times! Keep in mind these are pro apps, so the learning curve is pretty steep - regardless of how easy it looks in video demos! ;) Plus you'll have to invest in things like a video camera, scratch disk etc to get the most out of the apps.