What's the oldest computer Tiger can run on?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mammoth, Jan 29, 2007.

  1. Mammoth macrumors 6502a

    Mammoth

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Yes, I am wondering what the flat out oldest Mac Tiger can run on at all without any hacking. ..and predictions of the oldest computer Leopard will run on.
     
  2. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #2
    laptop: Powerbook G3 (Firewire)
    desktop: Powermac G3 (Blue and White)

    As far as I know these are the oldest that can run Tiger.

    For Leopard, I'm predicting a mid Powermac G4 will do, and an iBook G4.
     
  3. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #3
    Requirements
    Macintosh computer with a PowerPC G3, G4 or G5 processor
    Built-in FireWire
    DVD drive for installation
    256MB of RAM
    3GB of available hard disk space (4GB if you?install the developer tools)

    And upgrade cards don't work. So you'll need any G3.

    Leopard- who knows... maybe 1GB of RAM, 128VRAM, 40GB of HD space, and a beige box (for the Ultimate edition):D
     
  4. Mammoth thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mammoth

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    It seems this is the oldest one then. Not too bad for 9 years old. Can Vista (let alone XP) do that?
     
  5. Lovesong macrumors 65816

    Lovesong

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    Stuck beween a rock and a hard place
    #5
    Oh Sure...:rolleyes:
    Just use FW to hook up about 10 or 11 of them...
     
  6. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #6
    Yeah, the PB G3 like I mentioned above. Why do you want to know?


    I know people who have gotten XP running on 386's...
     
  7. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #7
    It runs like a dream on my G3 900Mhz iBook.

    ... Now for some more RAM...
     
  8. d-fi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #8
    i use tiger on a 300mhz G3 b/w powermac and it works great for basic stuff but you won't be using iMovie or anything.
     
  9. madmaxmedia macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    Slot-loading iMacs (350MHz and up) and up are fine with OS X.

    The tray-loading models will still run OS X, but had some limitations-
    http://lowendmac.com/macdan/04/0910.html

    I don't know if there were any such limitations with other Mac lines.
     

Share This Page