Whats the right powerbook?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by muffinman, Oct 15, 2005.

1. muffinman macrumors 6502

muffinman

Ive been a pc user all my life. I "found' Mac computers after I got my iPod. I now want a 15 in. powerbook. I was just wondering though, for a college-bound student, what would be better, the 12 inch, the 15 inch, or the 17 inch? Mind you, I'll be setting off in 2 years, so I still have some time to decide, but still, which one do you think is right? Oh and how many gigs is sufficent?

Thank you all.

2. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

crazzyeddie

I think the 15" is the perfect balance of desktop screen size and portability. Plus the resolution is just so much sharper than the 12".

3. wako macrumors 65816

as a college student I would definately go for the 12''

If you plan on taking notes in college with your laptop in a lecture hall, you will see that the desk that is available is VERY small. A 12'' is already too big, with a 15 you might be playing the balancing act.

I would definately NOT suggest you take a 17''. I know someone who bought a 17 and was planning on taking notes in lectures like myself, however found the laptop is WAY too big so he went back to pen and a paper :)

4. katie ta achoo macrumors G3

I agree with NOT getting a 17". TOO HUGE.

the 15" is the way to go. 12" is a little too small IMO, and 15" is just perfect.

Then again, I really do like this PowerBook.. :) *hugs*

5. Jay42 macrumors 65816

Jay42

For college, I would go with the 12" screen and then add an external monitor for your dorm. That way you will have the nice and small 12 to bring around to class and maybe a 20" Apple Cinema Display for the dorm when you have to write a big paper. You will love the 12" size for bringing to class, throwing in a bag (gently ;)), or surfing the web wirelessly around campus. I have a 15" PB now because I do a lot of work away from my desk, but I plan on going the 12" + ACD route soon!