whats to real scoop on the macbook?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by alw4416, Jul 10, 2006.

  1. alw4416 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #1
    ok here is the deal. i currently have a pb g4 17" loaded with 2gb ram 1.67 model 1 month old and i am seriously considering buying new black mb?? advice please...wait?? bitting my nails..im bothered by the universal app thing and the beta bootcamp with no isight driver for now. i use photoshop and dreamweaver a lot...help...i do like the idea of being able to boot winblows however. is it worth jumping yet or is my performance good enough?
    thanks:confused:
     
  2. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #2
    I've got a 15" 1.5 with similar questions. I don't really need the MB at all, but I keep looking at it...
     
  3. alw4416 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Location:
    Kansas City
    #3
    its hard isnt it??
     
  4. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    I replaced my 1.5Ghz 12" Powerbook with 1.25GB ram with a white 2Ghz MacBook. I slipped 2GB ram into it and haven't looked back.

    I too do web design so I just loaded Macromedia Studio 8 into XP and it runs great. As for the iSight driver well just get another cheapy cam and use that in XP instead.

    You won't regret it.
     
  5. Grokgod macrumors 6502a

    Grokgod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Location:
    Deep within the heart of madness!
    #5
    Are you saying that you loaded XP on your macbook and it works well?
     
  6. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    Yes I am saying that. It works just as it should.
     
  7. Grokgod macrumors 6502a

    Grokgod

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Location:
    Deep within the heart of madness!
    #7
    wow I am inpressed cause i was checking out the details on the Boot camp and was daunted form doing it. care to share any details.
     
  8. pavetheforest macrumors regular

    pavetheforest

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #8
    i have bootcamp/ windoze xp home loaded on my MBP. it works great, no issues...the setup can be a pain, sometimes bootcamp wont recognize your XP cd, but theres plenty of resource sites out there to guide you. i'm a heavy photoshop/cad user so the dual boot is great. in short, bootcamp is in beta but it works just fine. plus it makes all your friends jealous.:cool:
     
  9. slu macrumors 68000

    slu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Location:
    Buffalo
    #9
    Remember the Paralles option as well. Then you can run Mac OS X and Windows at the same time and keep the native speeds of photoshop WITHOUT the need for a reboot. Much better solution IMO.

    This assumes you have a Windows copy of Photoshop however. But I guess the dual boot option does as well.
     
  10. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #10
    :rolleyes: Not really. Give how cheap windows machines are, it would make more sense to me to get a crappy one for when you REALLY need windows (do you ever really need windows?) and keep your mac which should be better than a macbook for the time being (given the usage you describe).
     
  11. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    When you download Bootcamp it comes with a very easy to follow pdf set of instructions, just follow those and you can't possibly go wrong.

    Parallels has it's place I guess, but remember it is still only virtualisation software and therefore is ram dependent and doesn't offer support for all native hardware just yet. Whereas using Bootcamp to create a partition you are installing Windows XP natively onto your Mac just as you would onto a pc.
     
  12. BAspecialCake macrumors member

    BAspecialCake

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Location:
    Live on the IGN Boards
    #12
    The real question isn't is worth it?, but is it warranted? I mean, are any of the apps your running giving you displeasure with their speed?


    Basically it's futile if what your currently doing is satisfactory with you.
     

Share This Page