whats up with other browsers?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by kimcheeboi65, Aug 21, 2006.

  1. kimcheeboi65 macrumors member

    kimcheeboi65

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    #1
    My main browser that I use is Firefox. I use Opera once in awhile and I've tried safari and camino, but they fail to satisfy my browser needs.

    For firefox, it allows me to "force" open in tabs and allow me to switch in between my pressing commandkey + ` or commandkey + (the number). How come camino or safari cannot do those??

    It really bothers me. If they actually do, can someone tell me hwo to set it up? or any other easy way to manipulate tabs in safari or camino?
     
  2. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #2
    To switch between tabs in Safari you use cmd+{ and cmd+} to go left and right, respectively.

    I don't think you can 'force open' in tabs, but cmd+clicking works.
     
  3. kimcheeboi65 thread starter macrumors member

    kimcheeboi65

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    #3
    what do you mean cmd+[ and cmd+]???


    -----edit-----

    ohh nvm, you mean to go back or forward on the webpage.

    I meant having more than one tabs open and be able to switch to another tab using a keyboard shortcut.
     
  4. Fisheke macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    #4
    The saft plugin (http://haoli.dnsalias.com/Saft/index.html) allows (among other things) to catch all "new windows and put them in tabs. It's just a pain in teh ass that it's no freeware :(.

    The only reason i use Safari (apart from it's great support for web standards) is the fact that it knows how to use the "zoom" button.. Firefox just goes fullscreen and that's a serious waste of space on a 24".
     
  5. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #5
    in camino you switch between tabs by using: command-option right arrow, or left arrow

    the last option in the tabs section of the preferences allows you to force new windows to open in tabs.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #6
    Nope, what I meant was to go left and right between tabs.
    So, push command+{ (which is the same as command+shift+[ ) to go left and cmd+} to go right. Works fine.
     
  7. srf4real macrumors 68030

    srf4real

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    paradise beach FL
    #7
    I have a Kensington wireless kb with back, forward, and scrolling buttons on the left side, very convenient but it only works in Safari!
     
  8. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #8
    This works in Safari too.

    Edit: Oops, it's command+shift+arrow to switch between tabs in Safari.
     
  9. kimcheeboi65 thread starter macrumors member

    kimcheeboi65

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    #9


    what version of camino are you using? I don't have the last option of "force" opening in tabs.

    I'm using 1.0.2
     
  10. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #10
    I'm using one of the recently nightly builds. Switched from the stable version when they added spell checking I believe.

    http://www.caminobrowser.org/download/releases/nightly/

    The only bug that remains in Camino that I find better handled in other browsers (safari) is keychain support. Safari seems to handle multiple logins for single domains better than Camino. Other than that I find Camino has them all beat.
     

Share This Page