What's wrong with my powerbook?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by CJRhoades, Aug 16, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502

    CJRhoades

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #1
    Sometimes, this will randomly happen.
    View My Video
    They only way to fix it is to shake the display until it stops.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    bad lcd cable to the logic board

    its not the video card , possibly the lcd...but looks like just the cable.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    CJRhoades

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #3
    Bad cable eh? How long do you think it'll last before it fails completely?
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    depends, looks bad now.

    it depends on how often you open and close the lid or have to make the problem go away.

    you can prob grab a cable cheap from ifixit.com or ebay.

    shouldent be a big job to do.

    or you could buy a lcd and use it with the external lcd as a desktop and buy yourself a new one or refurb mac.

    good luck
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    CJRhoades

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #5
    I only open and close it twice a day.

    This laptop is literally falling apart. First the HDD died, then I couldn't pick it up without it turning off because the battery loses contact, then a stick of RAM failed, and now the display cable is going bad. All this over the course of a year.

    I have a pretty powerful PC that I use for gaming but I want to keep this Mac in good shape because it's my only one. But I'm afraid that soon enough, the logic board or something else that's more expensive to fix than the computer is worth will fail.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    overhaul the beast

    for a 150 or so you could make that into a machine to last for couple more years.

    disassemble it and reassemble it with a new hdd , lcd ribbon , replace the thermal paste , max the ram and retighten the insides.

    that will give you a longer runtime and make it better.

    just and idea.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    CJRhoades

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #7
    I threw in a 250GB 5400 RPM HDD already. And the RAM is already maxed out at 1GB. I want to replace the thermal paste but I don't have a torx t-8 screwdriver thats required to open it up. I went to my local hardware stores but the smallest they have is a torx t-10.
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    there easy to get online cheap

    i bought A multi torx unit for 8$ + 5 shipping.

    has all the odd sizes. 7,8,10,11.

    nice tool. if you want a link i can get you one.

    mmm
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #9
    If you have a Lowes nearby the carry them, unfortunately I know this for a fact as I had to find out a couple nights ago!
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    CJRhoades

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    #10
    A link would be great.
     

Share This Page