wheel mouse?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by guyute, Jan 31, 2004.

  1. guyute macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Location:
    Iowa
    #1
    Just switched to mac!! I am so pumped. Got the pm g5 d1.8. One thing I have a problem with is the mouse. I am dying here without a wheel to scroll web pages. Will a simple logitech work fine? thanks for everyones help.
     
  2. hugemullens macrumors 6502a

    hugemullens

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Location:
    Michigan
    #2
    Almost any usb mouse should work. I use a logitech elite wireless mouse, 2 buttons (both work), thumb button, and a wheel !! I agree, get a new mac, go buy a new mouse.
     
  3. James Craner macrumors 68000

    James Craner

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #3
    Yes. Most mice work fine with OS X, including Microsoft offerings. OS X supports scroll wheel and muti button rodents.
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    yeah, anything should work fine. logitech drivers are nice and allow you to configure what each button does (open folders etc).
    that's one thing i really don't get with apple, who-o-why they insist on shipping such and inadiquate mouse :rolleyes:
     
  5. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #5
    Any USB mouse, including multi-button wheel mice, work without any drivers; I use a 3-button IBM scroll mouse at work, since it was cheap at Staples and I like the shape.

    That said, if the company makes Mac drivers (for example, Logitech or Kensington), you can usually have some more fun with the mouse's features.

    Personally, I have a Logitech MX500 at home, and I absolutely adore it.
     
  6. guyute thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Location:
    Iowa
    #6
    thanks everyone. I have the issue under control.:)
     
  7. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #7
    No, I want to respond too. I haven't told you exactly the same thing. :D

    You may notice that some applications don't respond to the middle button properly and others will allow the window controls to respond to the right button when they probably shouldn't.
     
  8. big macrumors 65816

    big

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    #8
    there is USB overdrive, which I hear is awesome, though I never figured it out....
     
  9. Rincewind42 macrumors 6502a

    Rincewind42

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #9
    The middle button is a little too new to the Mac anyway =). The only app I know of that responds to it is Safari (for open in new Tab, maybe in new Window if you have tabbed browsing turned off). And I can't fathom why any app would respond to the non-primary button for closing windows, but low-and-behold when I try it in WMP it does :D . I guess that figures...
     
  10. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #10
    The non-primary button deal is a bug/feature of the Carbon framework. It's not an individual application issue.

    Maya uses the middle button just fine. :) In fact, they state that you need a 3 button mouse to operate the software.
     
  11. evolu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    LA la land...
    #11
    How are the logitech drivers?

    Is there an action programmable for hitting the 1+2 buttons together?

    Also, does the mouse track without a mousepad?
     
  12. grafikat macrumors 6502a

    grafikat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003

Share This Page