iPad When I tap the button to lower volume on iPad it mutes

Discussion in 'iPad' started by bobright, Feb 4, 2013.

  1. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #1
    It is weird it just stated doing it, I go to lower the volume and it just mutes the sound as I held the button down. I hope the button isn't faulty. I did just jailbreak so maybe its that causing it doubt it though.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #2
    Not a bug. A feature. If you hold the button down too long, it automatically drops the volume to the bottom. It's a shortcut to volume off, basically. You're meant to sort of short press your volume down, but if you hold it for about a second, it quickly drops. Unless I'm not understanding what you are doing. Since the topic mentions tap, yet the body of your post mentions hold.
     
  3. macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #3
    Holding down the down-volume button for a second or two acts as a mute. It's very convenient if you have your switch set as rotation lock rather than silent.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #4
    The thing is I am not "holding" it down at all. I am just tapping it as if I want to lower the volume in increments like I always do. It is acting as if I'm holding it though....with one small tap it kills the sound completely.

    The button doesn't appear stuck or anything so what could it be?
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #5
    I'm suffering from the same problem! I upgrade today to ios6 and the volume down bottom is muting the volume immediately on clicking , even short clicking is strait muting!
    Right on the first 2 seconds after respring it's working fine and then immediately start with this problem.
    It looks like a bug in the jailbreak or in one of the cydia addons.. If someone can help..
     
  6. macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #6
    Problem solved.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #7
    Cynic answer is not a solution.
    The bug is published so other users report on it until someone really solve the problem .
     
  8. macrumors 601

    rockyroad55

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    Phila, PA
    #8
    Well you said you jailbroke yours. Usually, problems do occur after that. Try restoring as new and see what happens.
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #9
    this happened to me once. you just press the volume button once and it mutes the volume (brings the volume slider all the way to 0). the only way i could fix it was to restore my ipad as new.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #10
    Ok, I'll invest my time to do so later maybe..
    Meanwhile I point the problem better- there is not such a command volume=volume-1.
    The basic command which relate to that command is volume=0.
    Even when I'm trying to bypass this problem with activator by using other gesture, it's again muting the volume instead decreasing it by 1.
    Hope that I'll be able to prevent myself from restoring again...
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #11
    Ugh so can I restore as new and then restore from my backup? I don't really want to manually install everything again :(
     
  12. macrumors G3

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #12
    If you have a backup from before you jailbroke, you could restore to that.

    Things like this is why I backup my backups before I jailbreak. ;)
     
  13. dazz87, Feb 5, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2013

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #13
    Same here just with my Ipad 4 (JB 6.1). One click and goes to mute.........:(


    Update: looks like uninstalling SBsetting fixes my volume down issue.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #14
    Couldn't I just back up to my computer right now, and them restore from that backup? The backup would remove the JB and problem wouldn't it?

    I do have a backup from a couple days ago but was thinking of just doing the above so it'll be the latest^^

    ----------

    I installed SBSettings and removed it, still have the problem. :mad:
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #15
    In my case its SBSettings. I just reinstall it again, and the issue came back up. ......:mad: I am going to do a restore and then jailbreak again.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #16
    Ok, solution is on the way..

    It's the activator.. Removing it fixed the problem, but we can't give it up.. I sent a mail to Ryan Patrich which is the developer and he told me its known issue and will be slove in the coming update during the next few hours..
    :)
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #17
    Great news!!ill ill hold off on the restore, plz update this thread if ya will :)

    Thanks
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #18
    that's good to know. I guess sbsetting had activator in it so when I uninstall sbsetting it also remove activator, that's why the issue was resolve.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #19
    Activator 1.7.3 released!!! Bug fixed.

    Now without no cynic answer I can tell that the problem solved !! Install the activator (1.7.3) and the bug will be fixed!
     
  20. thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #20
    I have SBSettings and Activator 1.7.2 installed, did a search and there's only tha one. How do I get 1.7.3?
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #21
    1.7.3 is on the home page of Cydia. the new version did fix the issue for me
     
  22. nszzya, Feb 6, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2013

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #22
    All I see is the 1.7.2 version... :mad:

    Edit: 1.7.3 magically appeared. Volume problem solved.
     
  23. macrumors G3

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #23
    First of all, restoring from backup and restoring your iPad are two different things -- confusing because they are both called "restore." Even more confusing because people use "restore from backup" as a shorthand for "restoring iPad, then restoring from backup."

    Just restoring from backup without first restoring your iPad won't remove your jailbreak. It just reverts your iPad's data and settings to the state it was in when the backup was made.

    If you restore your iPad, then restore from a backup that was made after the jailbreak, there is a possibility that some of the changes jailbreak apps and tweaks made to the system would be included in that backup. Usually, those changes just sit there without doing anything, sometimes the changes show up on a non-jailbroken device without doing any harm, but there are rare cases when they might interfere with a device even though it is non-jailbroken. Which is why when a jailbroken device is having issues, it is recommended that you either set it up as new or restore from a backup made before the jailbreak.
     
  24. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #24
    Recent Activator Update fixes the Volume Button Issue.

    It seems to me Activator is a lot more Finicky this time around. I'm getting bumped into Safe Mode more often than usual and I'm pretty sure it's Activator that's causing it.

    Anyone else?
     
  25. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #25
    Strangely enough, after JBing my volume button doesn't shortcut-to-mute if you hold it down. It just lowers the volume at a consistent pace.
     

Share This Page