When leopard ships or wait?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MichaelThomas, Feb 3, 2007.

1. MichaelThomas macrumors member

Hey,
    Im a student and im currently using a powerbook G4 17". My course is graphic design based basically and i've been saving up for a while now to purchase a MBP. Origianlly I was going to wait until the release of leopard and order it then but I've read so many complaints about the screens that Im worried about having lots of problems and chew on with apple trying to sort it out. Granted this may happen regardless of the screens but it appears that everyone seems to end up with an "unacceptable" screen. So basically my question is should I wait to see where apple goes with the MBP screens or just hope for the best and get my MBP when leopard comes out? Im looking to upgrade relatively soon, my powerbook does what it needs to but is starting to become abit slugish and could do with an upgrade.
    Thanks alot.:)

2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

Eraserhead

How much RAM has it got? You could upgrade that to 1GB+ and the performance would improve.

3. crees! macrumors 68000

crees!

I definitely recommend having at least 1GB of RAM in your PB. I have a 15 PB G4 myself with 1.5 GB. Granted I'd love a new machine I'm currently fine where I'm at. I do web design, programming, and some graphics work.

You say you do graphic design. I would wait. Why? Because the graphic designers staple of applications revolves around Adobe. Adobe has not released universal versions of their programs and this won't happen till CS3. I don't know about performance from first hand experience but I would think your PB would run CS2 faster than the MBP at this point in time.

I have 1.5GB of RAM in my machine and recommend you have something more than the stock minimum. If you don't it might not be that worth it if you're going to upgrade soon. Might as well save that money and put it toward a new machine.