When Panther arrives...how will I install it ?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by davrouk, Jul 4, 2003.

  1. davrouk Guest

    #1
    This may sound a bit stupid, but I am a recent switcher so go easy on me.

    When Panther does arrive, will it mean I have to format my HD completley? It is currently set up as delivered (1 partition containing X 10.2.6) and all my stuff is on there (the 80Gb drive has about 5Gb left free).

    So when I get Panther will I be able to just write over Jaguar and not format my HD.

    When using wintel (yuck) I would never dream of doing an upgrade install as they are always slooooow and bloated. Will I be able to get away with it on my iMac - will it reduce my peformance?

    If yes, better start backing up now :)
     
  2. akushlan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Palo Alto, CA
    #2
    Clean installs are always better, but I see no problem with just installing over Jaguar
    WARNING:
    sometimes funky stuff can happen when you don't just clean install
     
  3. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #3
    heres what I did, and I think anyone whos worried about ruining their jag partition should do this....
    Earlier this week I backuped everything I wanted on a next drive and reformated my drive...I have an iBook so I put 10gb for jag 10GB for panther and the other 7.xx for my Junk this way if I install the panther beta again or just wait until panther full, it won't ruin jag.... If you have the time and patientce to backup and reinstall now, you won't have to deal with headaches and trajedy in the future ..
     
  4. G4scott macrumors 68020

    G4scott

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    I think Apple tries as hard as they can to make it so just a plain install will do fine. I don't believe that a clean install will be necessary.

    The only problems you might run into are with certain preference panes, items in the main library folder, and certain haxies that remove shadows from windows or change the appearance of the operating system. Upgrading with haxies usually produces very bad results, such as missing user interface elements and such.

    If you run a normal Mac OS X system, and don't have any special 'haxies' (being a switcher, I don't think you would), you should be fine doing a plain upgrade to Panther.

    A clean install has its benefits, but unless you really need it, then I wouldn't recommend it.
     
  5. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #5
    Always back-up your data. Especially when you do an install. But this isn't Windows here. Try the upgrade option. If it doesn't work right, do a clean install. It'll probably over-write your settings. Don't worry about re-formatting. That's a last resort.
     
  6. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #6
    Duff-Man says....I don't believe there is any one "right answer" to cover everybody's individual circumstance. I think if you run a pretty basic systen, no 3rd party "haxies" etc then a simple upgrade install is normally fine. For those that do have lots of little extras and haxies, then I think the "archive and install" (or clean install as it is sometimes referred to) is best. The archive and install can install your new system while not deleting your old (it gets renamed to "previous system....") and will retain your user account(s) and settings etc. For me, I always like to start fresh on a major upgrade and always do the clean install......and as solvs and others have said, it's always a good idea to do a backup before upgrading - but then we all run regular backups anyway, don't we......oh yeah!
     
  7. tjwett macrumors 68000

    tjwett

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NYC
    #7
    Congrats on the switch. I've always had very good luck with the "Archive and Install" option. Isn't it nice to no longer have to wipe your HD clean periodically to keep your system running smooth? Most Windows folks I know will completely re-zero and reinstall their HDs as much as once a month just to prevent trouble. Poor bastards.
     
  8. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #8
    I've never had any problems with the "easy install" over the existing system software. Definitely do an install over Jag to begin with, and only do a clean install if that fails (it won't... but back ups never hurt, just for that one time in a thousand...)
     
  9. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #9
    archive and install.
    This is the best method.
    Since you're a switcher you most likely have enough disk space (its takes about 3GB more space to do it this way vs. upgrade).

    Then when you know that you are safe just delete the old folder. I did that with my beta of panther :D.
     
  10. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #10
    archive and install isn't always a good idea, the version of panther i installed on my power mac was a beta of course but i had to reformat and start all over because the installer went haywire...
    if you really have the space and not enough time then archive and install is for you...but beware!!!
     
  11. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #11
    Duff-Man says...If you are going to play around with a PRE-beta then you should be archive and installing - you should be installing it on a separate drive or partition and leaving your 10.2.x alone...I would not be telling people that the archive option is not good based on what you've done.....oh yeah!
     
  12. benixau macrumors 65816

    benixau

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #12
    actually, the entire install took me only 30 mins.
    Jag (10.2.1 - my CD version) took over an hours to do less. Like a good developer I always install as much as the installer lets me. Thankyou custom package selection.
    But - if you dont know what your doing here is a hint - DONT
     

Share This Page