When the hell is Apple gonna fix the Wireless problem in Leopard?!

Discussion in 'OS X' started by Neutral Gamer, Nov 26, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Neutral Gamer

    #1
    I've seriously had enough of this now. I love using Leopard and really don't want to go back to Tiger but it looks like that's what I'm gonna have to do until this wireless problem is fixed. Like many people, using WPA causes the connection to drop during normal internet use. So I changed it to the less secure WEP and I was able to use the internet more or less normally ... except for large file downloads.

    Every time I try and use a program like Software Update the connection will just drop in less than a minute. Only by using a completely UNSECURE connection can I download large files properly. I was hoping that the last Leopard update would have fixed the problem but alas nothing. I've been following this thread on the Apple website and it looks like a lot of people still seem to be affected despite various attempts to try and come up with a solution by themselves:

    http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=1195706&tstart=165

    I bought my MBP so I could use it in a portable way with the freedom of wireless and it's annoying that I can't. And I know from various websites and forums including MacRumors that there's a lot of other people out there who are having to suffer in the same way, or compromise and get themselves a really long network cable!

    How long is it gonna take?

    I would've expected something like this from a new release of Windows but not Mac OS. Have they even admitted there's a problem? What was Tiger like when that was released; did it have annoying problems that were eventually fixed and if so how long did it take?

    Finally, if I decide to use an unsecure network will data being sent over HTTPS (such as a banking site) still be secure? Or is using HTTPS over an unsecure wireless network a big no no? (It certainly sounds like a bad idea!)

    Cheers :)
     
  2. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #2
    Are you going through a router when this problem occurs ?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neutral Gamer

    #3
    Yes I am.

    No problem when connected up with a cable, just the wireless. I've tried loads of different options on the router but WEP and Unsecure are the only ones that seem to work. And it works perfectly well when using Tiger or Windows.
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #4
    What kind of router is it? Is it a .N ? and are you using .N only wide channel config?

    If you have a wireless device that's not .N going through the router it will slow down to the lowest speed wireless device.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #5
    Have you contacted Apple? Is this a known issue on some Macs? The reason I ask is because I haven't seen this problem on the 13 Macs we use which are a combination of new intels, upgraded intel MBPs, upgraded G4 PB and upgraded G4 PM.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    Sorry I can't help with the wireless problem (I'm still on Tiger), but to answer your question, Tiger had its share of problems as well. Tiger did not become stable enough to use (at least for me) until 10.4.3 (Panther was still much more stable and MUCH faster). I would expect the same from Leopard, so I have no plans to upgrade for a while yet. Hope you get your issues resolved.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neutral Gamer

    #7
    I have a "Sweex Wireless Broadband Router 11G" so I assume it's a .g rather than .n
     
  8. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #8

    Technical Details

    Standard, downwards compatible with IEEE802.11b WLAN
    Compatible with IEEE 802.3 and IEEE 802.3u Fast Ethernet
    Compatible with PPTP
    PPoE
    Static IP and DHCP Client
    Security with Wired Equivalent Privacy 64/128 bits
    Data speed: 54 Mbps
    MAC filtering
    1x 10Base-T/100Base-TX to the WAN port
    4x 10Base-T/100Base-TX to the LAN ports
    Auto MDI/MDIX on the LAN and WAN ports
    Windows 98SE / ME / 2000 / XP compatible




    I'd suggest getting a new router.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neutral Gamer

    #9
    Yeah I told them, like a lot of other people have. It is weird how some people are having problems and others aren't. Hopefully Apple can get the bottom of it and the more data they get from users the more easily they'll be able to work out which factors are causing the problem.

    Yeah, I anticipated problems from Leopard but I was expecting more user interface issues rather than something as fundamental as wireless, especially as it was working so well in Tiger.

    I know I sound angry but I can't complain in all fairness. I love Leopard's new features and it's only really large downloads that cause problems which I can always download at night setting my network to unsecure I suppose. I bought Leopard at a good price so I didn't mind taking the risk especially as I knew I had Tiger on hand in case things went wrong.

    I just hope they release a new update soon though ... ! :D

    But why? It works perfectly well with Tiger, Windows and Linux.

    Or are you saying my router's out of date in terms of specs? I did buy it over a year ago at a pretty cheap price I have to admit! Haha.

    Spend over $3000 on a MBP and nothing on a router. That's life!
     
  10. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #10
    Yes I'm saying that router is out of date spec wise.Especially when you're using a .N wireless card in your Mac.

    It would definitely help.A lot.

    The new routers are cheap.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Neutral Gamer

    #11
    My cousin's got a new router, I'll go round to his and see what type it is and whether it fixes the problems on my MBP. If it does and Apple don't release a new update any time soon then it looks like I might have to splash out on a new router this Christmas!

    Thanks for your help mate. The whole .N thing never crossed my head as a possible problem!
     
  12. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #12
    Yup the router makes all the difference.I use an AEBS router connected to a cable modem and my rate is always around 270.
     
  13. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #13
    I had considered buying an AEBS but have read about so many having problems with it lately (esp. related to dropouts and resets) that I was scared to do so. What version h/w (newer 1Gb or older 100Mb) and f/w are you running?
     
  14. macrumors 65816

    iJawn108

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    #14
    SMC Routers work nice with my macbook if thats any help
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    #15
    Another vote here for trying a new router. I have a cheap Belkin wireless router and WPA is working fine for me in leopard.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #16
    I use to have a dlink that would drop my mbp connection frequently but not my other pc computers. All I did was change my router to buffalo and now I never get a dropped connection on my mbp
     
  17. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #17
    I'm using the rev.a 100Mb and it runs like a charm.I have it on almost constantly with a PC and a Macbook and Mac Pro going through it.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
    #18
    My AEBSn (Gigabit) works great! :D
     
  19. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #19
    Throwing hardware at software problems is a mug's game.

    This guy doesn't need a new router. I'm using a 4 year old router with my Mac and it works great, as it should. Most cable companies provide internet connection rates that wouldn't even Max out a "B" Router, let alone a "G" or "N". I wouldn't see any real benefit from spending $200 on a "N" router personally.

    Luckily I'm not having issues with Leopard and Wireless, and I have a MBP with a "N" card.
     
  20. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #20

    Well ya know if it were a software problem I would have the same problem but I don't.

    It's SOP to duplicate problems in order for it to be a bug.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    #21
    No wireless problems here. I'm using an AEBS (100 Mbps) in b/g compatible mode.
     
  22. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #22
    How do you figure?
     
  23. macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #23
    Bugs have a tendency to be found in any Mac with the same brand Airport card.
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Not where you live.
    #24
    I'm using a newer DLink N router on a MBP with Leopard and have no problems at all.

    It might not be that your router needs to be replaced because it's out of spec, it may be degrading. If it's a few years old it might just be wearing out. Given that these things are so cheap, I don't personally expect a long life from them and probably replace mine every two years.

    Cheers.
     
  25. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #25
    There are too many variables to make such a blanket statement I'm afraid. The facts however, are clear: The threat starter's hardware has not changed, only the software has changed (Tiger->Leopard). Everything worked fine on Tiger, but doesn't on Leopard.

    That's a software problem, not a hardware one.

    To the thread starter: Did you do a clean install of Leopard or an upgrade?
     

Share This Page