Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jshum9999

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 2, 2004
Hello everyone,
I'm a college student, and I'm looking to buy a Powerbook. I know that right now Apple has the Cram and Jam deal where I can get a Powerbook and a iPod and get $200 back. This offer ends on September 25th. Should I buy the powerbook as soon as I can, or should I wait until the end of September just in case a new Powerbook comes out?
Also I know that this has been discussed a lot, and I have looked at a lot of posts on this, but do you guys think that the G5 powerbook will be arriving anytime soon? I'm willing to wait up to early next year before I purchase my powerbook, if the G5 were to come out then.
So can anyone help me out with when I should purchase my powerbook?

Thanks,
Justin

jsw

Moderator emeritus
Mar 16, 2004
Andover, MA
The absolute earliest a G5 PB is likely to appear is late spring, based on a summary of what I've read. Could it come out earlier? I suppose. But Bush could also decide to promote gay marriage. Late spring/summer is more likely.

Cram'n'Jam gives you $200 off an iPod and a PB you can use now. Note that you'll be able to sell it later, should you need to. My suspicion is that the first generation of G5 PBs won't be all that much more powerful than the current G4s - just that they'll have the G5 in them.

On the other hand, it's not impossible that we'll see faster/bigger HDs, better screen resolutions, possibly faster G4s, etc. before then. No matter when you buy, something better will come out shortly.

My advice, as always, is wait until you need/really want a new computer, then buy the best one you can reasonably afford which suits your needs, and stop looking at Apple.com for a few months.

Duff-Man

Contributor
Dec 26, 2002
Albuquerque, NM