When's the next iPod generation likely to surface?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Toadie, Nov 18, 2003.

1. Toadie macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I'm a complete noob to these forums, but after reading a few posts, I've realised I've come to the right place.

Basically, I'm just about to buy an iPod. I've weighed up all the pros and cons and I think Im gonna go for it. The only thing is, I dont really know enough about the existing iPod generations' release timeframe.

I know (or think) the latest Gen 3 iPods were released in April 2003 (was this in the UK too?); when are Apple likely to release a new generation (Gen 4, I presume?!)

Does anyone know how much time passed between the Gen 1+2 or Gen 2+3 releases?

I'm just about to buy the thing, but I don't want something thats gonna be a generation behind in a few months!

Thanks in advance for any help,

Toad

2. Vector macrumors 6502a

Vector

Go to the site's buyer's guide (http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/). The G3 iPods were released on april 28th but they have been updated with new hard drive capacities since (september 8th). The product cycle for each generation is listed to the side.

If you can wait, then wait, but their it will likely be at least several months before a new iPod. The average days between product cycle is 171 and it has only been 71 days, but this is only an estimate as the 2G ipod after a period twice as long as the others. If it were me I would buy since it is mid cycle and a new one will not come out for at least 3 months.

3. jxyama macrumors 68040

jxyama

i don't think there'll be an update, not until christmas is over anyway.