Where can i get some MacPro RAM now?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by crazycat, Aug 16, 2006.

  1. crazycat macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #1
    I would like to buy 3GB worth of MacPro ram as soon as possible so can someone directe me via a link. I normally buy from apple but apple is out of stock.

    Thank you.
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
  3. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #3
    They have RAM shipping in 1-2weeks for Mac Pros. I don't think any other place has the right RAM for the Mac Pro.

    but yes Macsales has RAM who knows how compatible it is thou

    also datamem has some not sure about how quick you could get them thou
     
  4. lizard79 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #4
    looks like the macpro wasn't ready for primetime at the wwdc. not enough ram and wireless not ready to ship looks strange to me...
     
  5. crazycat thread starter macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #5
    I am thinking the same thing aswell, probebly it was rushed.
     
  6. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #6
    That is what you get with new standards, a lot of demand and just a few manufacturers.
     
  7. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #7
    But they shipped the min configuration almost immediately ... when was the last time that happened?

    The Airport PCI Express (broadcom vers) and video card are the problem, sort of glad apple didn't wait like they did on the XServe.
     
  8. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    Is there anything wrong with this RAM over at Newegg aside from the fact that it is not guaranteed to work with Mac Pros?

    Edit: One of the reviews (the only review really) is from a Mac Pro user who says that it works great if not a little warm.
     
  9. kbonnel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    In a nice place..
    #9
    DMS had them in stock when I bought last friday. They do overnight for $12.50.

    www.datamem.com

    (I have no connectionw ith DMS, I just bought my memory from them, and they shipped it fast)

    Kimo
     
  10. kbonnel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    In a nice place..
    #10
    Yea, I think the person who made that review is on MacRumors. Remember, apple doesn't say that you need "their" memory. They provide the exact specifications on what you need. They only warn about the heatsink, as there "may" be a chance that the fans could run louder, or the memory could run slower.

    Kimo
     
  11. crazycat thread starter macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #11
    I am sick on my MacPro, well not really but it runs slow with 1GB of RAM. I have about 10MB of free RAM 99% of the time.
     
  12. hwattys1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Central Indiana
    #12
    I got two x 1 gig of the Kingston FB-DIMM memory linked in the post above from newegg.com ($365 with shipping) and added it in to the 2 x 512 of Apple memory provided in the base configuration. The Kingston sticks look like Supermodels at a Jenny Craig convention in there. The system boots and runs fine but my wife is having some issues with Photoshop CS2. There is some "drag" or latency in executing some procedures in PS. We are not sure if this is a problem with the memory or perhaps with the CS2 installation. When we set up the Mac Pro we just did the firewire transfer of apps and files from her old machine, a G5 dual 2.5 AGP machine with 8 gigs of DDR400 (less than 4 hours to transfer 160 gigs which I attribute to transferring from one RAID-0 array to another). Right now it is a mixed bag. Boot time is way faster with the Mac Pro and general computing seems lightning fast but PS is only faster for some things and slower on others. Allocating additional system memory to PS helped a bit but did not cure the issue completely. We plan to do a couple things. She is going to reinstall PS fresh and see if that helps. I am then going to try it with just the 1 gig MAC memory and then with just the 2 gigs of Kingston memory and see if maybe there is a compatability issue of some sort. Any other ideas or tips? With the Kingstom memory there is no issue of noise or heat that we have been able to discern. It runs quiet cool and smooth.
     
  13. crazycat thread starter macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #13
    I just looked on Curcle (spelling) and i cant find any RAM, i have tryed a few other places with no luck.
     
  14. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    Don't pay attention to free RAM. OS X taked whatever RAM is available but it is still available should another program need it. More importantly, pay attention to page outs as this is an indication of how often a program needs memory and it is not available so your computer has to dump memory to the hard drive.
     
  15. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    Rememeber that Photoshop is running on top of an emulation layer so it will not be faster than her old computer on many tasks in PS. A fresh install of Photoshop might help because OS X may optimize the installation for use through Rosetta. It is worth a shot. Also, you may want to throw in a second hard drive to use as scratch. It will be much faster than using a scratch drive on the same physical disk.
     
  16. davey0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #16
    I'm using two of the Kingston 1GB sticks with the Thermaltake heatsinks and have experienced no problems. They do seem to run pretty hot though.
     
  17. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #17
    Heres a transcript of a conversation with a rep at crucial about MacPro ram.

    Me: I was wondering when you may have any RAM for a Mac Pro available?

    Rep : One moment, please, while I review your enquiry.

    Rep : Hi, I have just had a wee check for you, and regret to advise that we have no ETA for these parts at the moment. If you query is urgent we would recommend contacting Apple directly. If however you are able to wait, I reckon it will be afew more weeks before we have a full update."
     
  18. crazycat thread starter macrumors 65816

    crazycat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    #18
    Its funny that i never needed more then 1GB RAM on any pc i used, with macs however i do many thigns that i dont with windows which is why i need it. Now i have to wait :)
     
  19. overheated macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    #19
    i got my mac pro yesterday and had four sticks of this waiting for it and it works fantastically. i will say that 8gb of memory makes this thing scream.
     
  20. hwattys1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    Central Indiana
    #20
    My Bad

    Oops, I pulled the trigger on the Mac Pro thinking it would be a good machine for my wife's Photoshop work. I missed the boat badly on the whole emulation thing (Rosetta). The old dual G5 2.5 AGP with a mere two processors is much much faster. If it were only going to be 60 days or so until CS3 came out it might be a different story, but when you make a living with PS it has to be fast! We are returning it to the Mac Store in Indianapolis so if anybody out there just has to have it there will be one there tonight! The good news for everybody else is I can say the Kingston FB-DIMM memory from www.newegg.com seems to work just fine at about 60% of Apple's price.
     
  21. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #21
    Its unfortunate that Adobe was not on top of this transition. Of course, it is more unfortunate for Apple than Adobe but it is still unfortunate.
     

Share This Page